What Do I Need To Know About Linux?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-22-10, 07:20 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
What Do I Need To Know About Linux?

I started to hijack the other thread but figured I'd better not.
I don't care for Windohs or Micro$oft at all. Although I'm using Windohs XP now.
I want to switch to an Open Source OS but I can't get this Linux stuff straightened out.
You talk about "8 flavors of Linux." Huh?
What is Redhat?
What is Ubuntu?
Are these considered "flavors of Linux?"
What is the talk of some gnome?
See? I don't know anything. LOL!
I want an OS to behave the way I want it to behave. I've seen posts where they talk about "if you use Ubuntu (for instance) you have to use such and such. I see posts about "wine" something.
What does all of this mean?
Thank you for your time and patience.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-22-10, 08:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
There are not 8 flavors but over 200 flavors or you could build your own from scratch. Heck. even OSX is a distant cousin of Linux. The "8" may have referred to major versions of Linux but even there you would get some arguments on which are "the" "8".

I use PCLinuxOS and really like it. Ubuntu actually comes in several flavors. There are many others. Some are Geek friendly and some are newbie friendly. Most are available as a live CD or DVD. That means if your computer is capable of booting from a CD you just pop it in and let it boot. This will let you test the Distro before installing and check all your hardware is compatible. I would suggest checking several flavors of Linux this way to get a feel for them then choose the one you like best. Note most are free so it doesn't cost anything but the price of a blank CD to try them. You just download and burn as an image file. You might wanto do a lot of Googling. While learning to use Linux is in many cases easier to learn learning about all the different flavors and their paticular advantages may take a bit.

If you have specific questions please post back but I must warn you I'm like many Windows users. I'm not a geek about my OS. I just use it (Linux).
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-10, 03:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 46
Some linux are more suited to the command-line (typing)
Some are more point-and-click.
The command-line ones are easier to customize.
I can recommend freebsd as the first type (pc-bsd and
others exist as desktop-ready installs)...
wine, dosbox, etc can run windows programs under
a compatability layer sometimes.
(begin formatting-wrecked reply area)
linux freebsd windows
various pkg- one pkg- the registry
mgmt mgmt
few rootkits few rootkits easy to get virus
(end formatting-wrecked reply area)
can run dual firewalls (all three systems) if careful
...........
Linux or freebsd can take up much more of your time.
That is good or bad depending.
Also, non-windows may limit your ability to use
certain products that require a windows install or
access.
I suggest browsing the forums at freebsd.org before
trying either, the thread "what is your favorite linux"
may help you decide "which linux" "freebsd instead"
although I have not even glanced at the thread.
..........
And whichever, follow a guide first, particularly if you
want to perserve data on your windows disks.
.........
All the time I have to reply today.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-10, 07:36 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux

I may consider linux next time around we have no dealers in my town I live..but I have heard from what I believe are reliable sources Linux may be better for security reasons and faster
..I have windows7 now so I am staying with windows for awhile
I was B&R on windows
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-23-10 at 07:41 AM. Reason: additional info added
  #5  
Old 02-23-10, 09:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
I may consider linux next time around we have no dealers in my town I live.
Unless you are talking an extensive commercial set up of one of the non-free distros it doesn't come from a dealer. You don't buy it. You download it for free and burn it to disk or buy a copy already on disk from an on line seller for a couple of dollars. There are even beta versions of the commercial ones that charge for free.
 
  #6  
Old 02-23-10, 02:30 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Okay, thanks. You all gave me starting places.
I have changed the internal hard drive and replaced the cooling fan on my laptop. That's about as much as I know there.
When I got my first computer in 2004 I bought it from Dell (laptop). I didn't know the first thing about much of anything. I used IE and before I knew it I had my first virus.
Now, I pretty much know if I have a virus by the way my computer runs. I may get 1 virus a year but I seem to get the real doozies! The ones that take me 2 days to get rid of.
Thanks for all your help!
 
  #7  
Old 02-23-10, 04:14 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
first email

Originally Posted by Dawter View Post
Okay, thanks. You all gave me starting places.
I have changed the internal hard drive and replaced the cooling fan on my laptop. That's about as much as I know there.
When I got my first computer in 2004 I bought it from Dell (laptop). I didn't know the first thing about much of anything. I used IE and before I knew it I had my first virus.
Now, I pretty much know if I have a virus by the way my computer runs. I may get 1 virus a year but I seem to get the real doozies! The ones that take me 2 days to get rid of.
Thanks for all your help!
you should of seen my first hotmail address full of virus
..I abandoned it and got me another hotmail address
 
  #8  
Old 02-23-10, 04:18 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux

Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Unless you are talking an extensive commercial set up of one of the non-free distros it doesn't come from a dealer. You don't buy it. You download it for free and burn it to disk or buy a copy already on disk from an on line seller for a couple of dollars. There are even beta versions of the commercial ones that charge for free.
didn't know like I was B&R on windows
 
  #9  
Old 02-23-10, 05:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
didn't know like I was B&R on windows
Don't feel bad. Most of us were raised on the wrong side of the tracks.
 
  #10  
Old 02-25-10, 09:34 AM
lusth's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Try wubi installer:

Wubi - Ubuntu Installer for Windows

It allows you to dual boot your computer without having to repartition your drive. It's easy to do and it allows you to explore linux without giving up windows. No need to burn a CD so it's especially good for netbooks.

Also, if you boot into linux you can see your windows files. This allows you to fix various windows problems, should they arise.
 
  #11  
Old 02-27-10, 07:49 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux

Originally Posted by lusth View Post
Try wubi installer:

Wubi - Ubuntu Installer for Windows

It allows you to dual boot your computer without having to repartition your drive. It's easy to do and it allows you to explore linux without giving up windows. No need to burn a CD so it's especially good for netbooks.

Also, if you boot into linux you can see your windows files. This allows you to fix various windows problems, should they arise.
I did this I downloaded all but I cannot get the firefox bowser to work when I boot with what it downloaded can you help what am I doing wrong..I do so much want to experiment with
this dual boot partition Lunix
 
  #12  
Old 02-27-10, 11:54 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux-virus

How does Linux deal with Virus and spyware or maybe that is not a issue
 
  #13  
Old 02-27-10, 12:43 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux

I got it all working now I did use
Wubi - Ubuntu Installer for Windows
I have been fooling around all day but I got the videos working
I also am using google chrome browser..had to download a special beta google chrome browser for Linux
It's fantastic google chrome wouldn't trade for firefox or the I.E anyday
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-27-10 at 12:46 PM. Reason: additional info added
  #14  
Old 02-27-10, 02:28 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux

Ok I'm up and running good now with Linux what does Linux do about spyware/virus just wondering cause I have never had a thing to do with it up until now
 
  #15  
Old 02-27-10, 03:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
Ok I'm up and running good now with Linux what does Linux do about spyware/virus just wondering cause I have never had a thing to do with it up until now
There are no known viruses in the wild or spyware that is compatible with Linux so if you want to catch a virus or spyware you will have to use Windows. Also bad news on the Registry front. Since there is no registry in Linux you won't find any registry cleaners. If you want to use a bogged down computer with a malware infested Registry you will have to use Windows.

Only real reason to run an AV on a Linux box is to protect Windows computers on the same network. They could catch a virus from Linux but the virus wouldn't affect Linux. Most Linux users don't bother with AV software. There are some, just Google.
 
  #16  
Old 02-27-10, 03:24 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
no virus/spyware with Linux

Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
There are no known viruses in the wild or spyware that is compatible with Linux so if you want to catch a virus or spyware you will have to use Windows. Also bad news on the Registry front. Since there is no registry in Linux you won't find any registry cleaners. If you want to use a bogged down computer with a malware infested Registry you will have to use Windows.

Only real reason to run an AV on a Linux box is to protect Windows computers on the same network. They could catch a virus from Linux but the virus wouldn't affect Linux. Most Linux users don't bother with AV software. There are some, just Google.
Thanks so much I had to put my wireless password in again
become familar with Lenux it looks simple
download a beta for google chrome for lenux
I love google chrome I'm right at home with it
 
  #17  
Old 02-27-10, 03:38 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
so if you want to catch a virus or spyware you will have to use Windows. If you want to use a bogged down computer with a malware infested Registry you will have to use Windows.
LOL, Love it!
I read that too. No need for Anti-virus software or SpyBot.
WooHoo!
I'm in the process of installing Linux Mint.
 
  #18  
Old 02-27-10, 04:00 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Ubuntu

Will that Ubuntu work also
with windows7 or what?
I may think about doing the same think with my new laptop it has windows7
will it allow
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-27-10 at 04:02 PM. Reason: additional info added
  #19  
Old 02-27-10, 05:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
Will that Ubuntu work also
with windows7 or what?
I may think about doing the same think with my new laptop it has windows7
will it allow
The question should be will Wubi work in Win7 or is my lap top compatible with Linux.

Ford is a type of car. Chevy is a type of car. You don't need to have a Ford to drive a Chevy. Windows is an operating system, Linux is an operating system. You don't need Wndows to run Linux.

Easiest way to test if a particular Linux distribution will work on your laptop is just to boot from a live CD. You can boot from a live CD regardless of the operating system installed on the computer or even if there is none. If one Linux distribution doesn't work you can try another distro.

Actually many Linux users would simply erase Win7 or buy a computer with no OS or some flavor of Linux.
 
  #20  
Old 02-27-10, 05:28 PM
lusth's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
2x2, when you said firefox didn't work, I assume you mean videos didn't work. There is a reason for this: Ubuntu is based upon Debian Linux - the Debian folks insist all software delivered in an installation is Free and Open Source. Thus, Ubuntu doesn't come with proprietary software, such as Flash. You can, however, download proprietary software after installation. If you want to install flash, just search for 'download flash' while booted in linux. You'll get a link for the linux version of flash.

Chrome is nice, too. Clever of you to find it to solve your problem.
 
  #21  
Old 02-27-10, 07:18 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
What is it that's good about Google Chrome?
 
  #22  
Old 02-27-10, 08:07 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
java download

Originally Posted by lusth View Post
2x2, when you said firefox didn't work, I assume you mean videos didn't work. There is a reason for this: Ubuntu is based upon Debian Linux - the Debian folks insist all software delivered in an installation is Free and Open Source. Thus, Ubuntu doesn't come with proprietary software, such as Flash. You can, however, download proprietary software after installation. If you want to install flash, just search for 'download flash' while booted in linux. You'll get a link for the linux version of flash.

Chrome is nice, too. Clever of you to find it to solve your problem.
I downloaded the right Java script so I could
play youtube videos...I know it didn't come with it
so I now have Linux on my new windows7 laptop also
as a boot option just like my netbook
 
  #23  
Old 02-27-10, 08:12 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
google chrome

Originally Posted by Dawter View Post
What is it that's good about Google Chrome?
what is so great about google chrome
well it will remember all user ID's and passwords
if you haven't use google chrome before you will
have to overcome a learning curve but after that
it is fast as lighting do all your bookmarks tab everything out
give yourself a chance to learn it you will never look back
to firefox or the I.E & the good thing it works
great with Ubunbu and Linux
It was slow going setting myself up wasn't easy
but I did it both netbook and new laptop also
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-27-10 at 08:17 PM. Reason: additional info added
  #24  
Old 02-27-10, 08:25 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
desktop photo

I downloaded a desktop photo also Gali Atari
she is a great Israel singer..it has been a great learning experience for me..we will see how the Linux goes in the days to come
I will keep you all posted
 
  #25  
Old 02-28-10, 12:21 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Doesn't it track you like Google search does?
 
  #26  
Old 02-28-10, 12:38 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
What's wrong with this picture?
Mint picture by Dawter - Photobucket
 
  #27  
Old 02-28-10, 01:26 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
temporary files-Linux

Does Linux have a need to deleate temporary files
& defrag like that..probably not..like in google chrome browser you can still deleate your cache and other things that doesn't seem to change? or am i wrong
 
  #28  
Old 02-28-10, 02:34 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
Does Linux have a need to deleate temporary files
& defrag like that..probably not..like in google chrome browser you can still deleate your cache and other things that doesn't seem to change? or am i wrong
Maybe you can start a new thread that is specific to your own problems.
 
  #29  
Old 02-28-10, 05:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Originally Posted by Dawter View Post
What's wrong with this picture?
Mint picture by Dawter - Photobucket
Nothing that I can see. Could you elaborate:
 
  #30  
Old 02-28-10, 06:50 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
disk cleanup & defrag

Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Nothing that I can see. Could you elaborate:
Remember in windows how one can run disc clean up and or defrag I suppose Linux doesnt have this
 
  #31  
Old 02-28-10, 07:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
Remember in windows how one can run disc clean up and or defrag I suppose Linux doesn’t have this
That is a boot screen. Defraging is done after it boots. At least that is the way it was in Win2K

The nature of the Linux file system reduces fragmentation and most experts say it is not needed.

Really never seen a built in Disc Cleanup in Windows but I only know Win2K and earlier. No disc cleanup in Linux as far as I know.
 
  #32  
Old 02-28-10, 08:13 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Linux password

How do I change my password
 
  #33  
Old 03-01-10, 10:43 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
never mind

Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
How do I change my password
I have decided to keep what I now have for password
 
  #34  
Old 03-01-10, 01:59 PM
lusth's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
I have decided to keep what I now have for password
If you do decide to change your mind, you can change your password by entering the command:

passwd

in a terminal window (Start->Accessories->Terminal). You will need to know your old password to change it.

To get faster responses, you should switch to:

Ubuntu Forums

They get lots of traffic and are dedicated (in part) to get newcomers all situated.
 
  #35  
Old 03-01-10, 03:22 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Nothing that I can see. Could you elaborate:
See the first line says, "/dev/sda6."
The second from the bottom line says, "/dev/sdb5."

Linux won't load if I click on the first line "/dev/sda6."
But it will load when I click on "/dev/sdb5."

Is that first line supposed to be there?
Thanks
 
  #36  
Old 03-02-10, 06:01 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
ubuntu-windows7

I also run Linux as a partition along side my windows7
I think windows 7 is good but I now have a boot option on two of my laptops to boot with Ubuntu..there has been lots of work involved for me getting everything working the videos in youtube but I did find the right Java download in both my windows7 laptop & my windows XP netbook...time will tell
I can now participate with ubuntu forums
 

Last edited by 2x2; 03-02-10 at 06:02 AM. Reason: additional info been added about ubuntu forums
  #37  
Old 03-02-10, 02:37 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
2x2,
When I receive an email stating someone has replied to my thread I click on the link eagerly anticipating an answer to my question only to find it's just you again hijacking my thread and wasting my time.
I asked you once to please start another thread that is more specific to your own Linux issues.
 
  #38  
Old 03-02-10, 03:51 PM
lusth's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by Dawter View Post
See the first line says, "/dev/sda6."
The second from the bottom line says, "/dev/sdb5."

Linux won't load if I click on the first line "/dev/sda6."
But it will load when I click on "/dev/sdb5."

Is that first line supposed to be there?
Thanks
This looks odd. You might try asking for help at

LinuxQuestions.org

You can make the line that works the default by modifying the grub config file:

sudo nano /boot/grub/menu.lst

and changing the line

default 0

to

default 5

assuming that is the correct line number, where the first line is numbered 0, the second 1, and so on.
 
  #39  
Old 03-02-10, 05:15 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Thank you. I printed off what you posted and will do that.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes