Computer won't boot

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-18-10, 11:51 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 373
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Computer won't boot

I bought a new computer, and just set the old one off to the side. It worked fine went I stopped using it, it was just old and slow, and I needed more speed, and power. The other day I turned it on to get some files and pic off of it, and it won't start. I get a error message, the says the operating system is gone. I pulled the hard drive, and put it in a external hard drive case. And all it does is run a click. Any ideas
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-18-10, 03:19 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dust

I am not expert, but it sounds like it may be a dust issue.

I have had a few issues with dust and computers in the past.

Make sure you open your CPU in non-dusty environment (as much as possible).
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-10, 04:07 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you pulled the hard drive and put it in an external housing hooked to another computer and it still is not doing anything I would say the drive has died. Does the computer you have it hooked to, I'm assuming via usb, see it?
 
  #4  
Old 03-18-10, 05:09 PM
mickblock's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calumet Township, Indiana
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of connection are you using?
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-10, 06:14 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 373
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jpr28056 View Post
If you pulled the hard drive and put it in an external housing hooked to another computer and it still is not doing anything I would say the drive has died. Does the computer you have it hooked to, I'm assuming via usb, see it?
Yes it is a usb. The drive makes the normal start up noises, the real fast clicking, and a couple buzzes, then is just keeps on clicking, but not as fast the start up clicking.
 
  #6  
Old 03-18-10, 06:32 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,630
Received 207 Votes on 184 Posts
If you have a boot disk you can go into the BIOS and change the boot order to boot to your CD drive. To enter the BIOS perss F2 or delete while it is POSTing. It does POST right?
 
  #7  
Old 03-18-10, 09:11 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 373
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Iam using a usb connection
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: