internet connection?


  #1  
Old 04-05-10, 10:41 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
internet connection?

i have a compaq presario 5000, I got att internet, the thing is that this computer doesn't have an ethernet jack, so I can't connect the router to the desktop, I got a ZyXEL wireless usb adapter but it doesnt detect my router, I got a Westell (modem) that have an DSL jack, ethernet jack and a usb jack, i connected it and nothing happened. Any ideas how to connect it?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-05-10, 11:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Ethernet cards are cheap. I'd put an Ethernet card in the computer if you have an open PCI slot and try the original modem. Try Ebay for a cheap Eathernet card.

You do have filters on all your phone and alarm systems don't you? Or do you have a home run from the NID?
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-10, 11:41 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I buy an ethernet card is it going to be easy to install it?, the computer actually have a place to connect it?
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-10, 12:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,126
Received 348 Votes on 301 Posts
According to this site: http://www.partstore.com/Part/Hewlet...le&CID=froogle your mother board has 3 PCI slots. (Its the white ones) To connect a PCI Ethernet card you just pop the case open (with it off of course) Install the card in an open PCI slot. Close the case and boot your computer. Your OS will either install the drivers in needs or will ask you for the disk. plug in and your good to go.

There are many how videos and articles on the web. Just search "installing an Ethernet card"
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-10, 03:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is there a good brand or it doesn't matter which one I use.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-10, 06:22 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,126
Received 348 Votes on 301 Posts
I have always had good luck with 3com but that was back in the day when I had a separate card. Now my Ethernet in on the mother board. D-link and Linksys make good networking products.
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-10, 08:54 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for all your help. I'm going to try that.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: