AVG anti-virus software


  #1  
Old 04-21-10, 02:08 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
AVG anti-virus software

My subscription is about to expire with McAfee and was wondering what was thought of the AVG software. I like the price, was wondering if it did the job.
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-10, 02:44 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 149
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's always hard to know if your anti-virus software is not working or if you simply aren't getting anything!

Apart from being a bit slow, I had no problems with it and it picked up the odd thing or two every now and then. I've switched to Avast in the meantime which seems a bit smoother and quicker. It hasn't claimed to have picked up anything that AVG might have missed.
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-10, 03:00 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I've been running AVG for over a year and never had a problem. I tried Avast but I didn't like the, "Virus database updated!" audio every time I booted up. It also seemed to me that the Avast somewhat slowed my cruising.

On the other hand, I've never been hit by any kind of malware, virus, trojan or what-have-you. Maybe it's because I'm super lucky or maybe it is because I don't open E-mail from unknown senders and don't go to too many "suspect" web sites.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-10, 03:17 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
I've never had issues with AVG..but I've heard real good things about AVAST. Some folks seem to have issues with AVG hogging resources...hasn't been an issue to me.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-10, 03:17 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,127
Received 348 Votes on 301 Posts
I have been running Avast! for quite a few years with no problems (also its free for home use). From what I understand it is a resource hog but I have not noticed any slowness.

My system:
P4 3.0 GHZ
2GB RAM
750GB HD
 
  #6  
Old 04-21-10, 04:35 PM
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3,140
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I switched to AVG two years ago after trying 3 other protectors. Virus's had gotten past them. I have not had any problems with AVG. It catches about 1 virus a month for me.
Good Luck
 
  #7  
Old 04-22-10, 04:20 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Over the years I've used Norton, CA, AVG, McAfee, Kaspersky, and Avast.
Norton and AVG are serious resource hogs.
McAfee and Kaspersky took way too long to release the machine after booting.
CA missed quite a few threats.

I settled on Avast about 4 months ago and won't look back.

Originally Posted by furd View Post
I tried Avast but I didn't like the, "Virus database updated!" audio every time I booted up. It also seemed to me that the Avast somewhat slowed my cruising.
You can shut off the audio in the prefs with a single mouse click. You wanna see slowed cruising? Try Kaspersky! Seriously, Avast can be told to ignore known-safe sites.
 
  #8  
Old 04-23-10, 11:57 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,635
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Used to use AVG but version 8.0 turned it into the resource hog it claimed to be the alternative to. I switched to Avast and have had no problems
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-10, 06:08 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Avira AntiVir is free and good.
 
  #10  
Old 04-25-10, 10:02 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,823
Received 111 Votes on 98 Posts
I also have Avira, but don't know how good it is. I suppose as long as I don't seem to have any problems, it must be working.
 
  #11  
Old 04-25-10, 05:10 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by CasualJoe View Post
I also have Avira, but don't know how good it is. I suppose as long as I don't seem to have any problems, it must be working.
I put it on my wife's computer. It has just recently stopped a couple of redirects to bad web pages and also alerted on a trojan download. Seems to work well.
 
  #12  
Old 04-26-10, 12:29 AM
I
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 65
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Use Microsoft Security Essentials free real-time antivirus software. Doesn't have to be registered or any of that BS that Avast has you do....
http://www.microsoft.com/SECURITY_ESSENTIALS/
 
  #13  
Old 05-01-10, 08:20 PM
D
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Avira AntiVir is good if you know a little bit about browsing... Rick Johnson.. I have to disagree with you about Nortons... past versions of Norton's have been resource hogs...however starting in the 2009 version...the problem is gone. I'm not sure what they did but they totally changed the program and it works great. To make it even better... as a Comcast subsriber... you get it free..... yes...free... Log into your Comcast account and click "Security" If anyone is going to change their anti-virus software...make sure you uninstall your old one completely before installing the new one.
 
  #14  
Old 05-02-10, 06:41 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No problem duper ... that's your opinion and I respect your right to say it. My experience with Symantec has been different, though.

Welcome to the forums.

BTW, Symantec is running a special right now: Buy Norton and get two free tix to the Iron Man 2 movie.
 
  #15  
Old 05-04-10, 12:18 AM
D
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Rick Johnston View Post
No problem duper ... that's your opinion and I respect your right to say it. My experience with Symantec has been different, though.

Welcome to the forums.

BTW, Symantec is running a special right now: Buy Norton and get two free tix to the Iron Man 2 movie.
I think I would rather pay extra for the Norton's...
But really... Symantec has slimmed down the resources needed for Norton's.. I was extremely suprised. I had the same problem with the resourse thing back in 2006 when I quit using Nortons The 2009 version is completely different..and it won me back... the 2010 version I use now is the same as 2009 far as resources go.
 
  #16  
Old 05-04-10, 08:54 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Count me in the camp of an AVG user that switched to Avast after AVG 8 let me down.

...and regarding Avast's annoying "Your virus database has been updated" voice alert, you can turn this "feature" off in the program settings.
 
  #17  
Old 05-06-10, 11:23 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 149
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did that after waking up people every morning when I turned it on. You can turn off just the audio, leaving the little pop-up to tell you it has updated, or turn it all off.
 
  #18  
Old 05-08-10, 06:42 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've used AVG for a few years and yes, it has become a resource hog. I particularly dislike the "optimization scan". But, i've tried a bunch of others, too, and not just for a day or two.
They say that even if you eat in the best restaraunt in town long enough, you are bound to get a bad meal. All of these programs will go through bad spots as they try to outdo each other or get a new director or something. None of them are fool proof either. Just because one has an antivirus program installed, it doesn't mean one can surf all the free porn sites, download free (stolen) music, free software, free ringtones and open attachments from strangers. A reputable antivirus program and common sense will do you in good stead...most of the time.
For now, I'll stick with AVG until something really, really good comes along.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: