Norton Virus protection questions.

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-20-10, 05:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Norton Virus protection questions.

Hi all,
I have a new Gateway netbook coming my way on Monday and it comes with the free trial of Norton Security. I have used Norton in the past and have had loads of trouble with it. What is the best way to remove Norton from the system so I can install the virus protection that I want? The last time I dealt with Norton I had to download a program to remove it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-20-10, 05:56 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Go to Control Panel, Add/remove programs and remove the program. Then Go to Search or Find and look for anything that says Norton or Symantec and delete it manually. both Norton and McAfee gobble up resources and are very difficult to remove.
 
  #3  
Old 06-20-10, 09:05 AM
Praxius's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central CT
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Even after that, there will be lots of registry entries remaining. Run the registry cleaner in CCleaner several times to remove all remnants.

Download CCleaner 2.32.1165 - FileHippo.com

Jeff
 
  #4  
Old 06-20-10, 11:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Be careful when removing Symantic software because many laptops use Symantic touch pads for the mouse.
 
  #5  
Old 06-20-10, 11:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can uninstall using the Norton uninstall or Control Panel/Add-Remove Program.

After uninstalling the application, do a google search on "norton removal tool" and select Symantec's website, select your product and download Symantec's removal.
 
  #6  
Old 06-20-10, 12:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by furd View Post
Be careful when removing Symantic software because many laptops use Symantic touch pads for the mouse.
Did you mean Synaptics?


............
 
  #7  
Old 06-20-10, 12:59 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah I'm thinking he meant Synaptics. You can get rid of Symantec stuff without fear of killing your touchpad.
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-10, 04:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Yeah, you guys are correct. I should never post within an hour of awakening.
 
  #9  
Old 06-21-10, 04:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Next question about this.

Thanks for the info. That is about what I remember having to do, just wanted to verify it.

Next up is what virus protection to use. I have McAfee on this pc and it works good as far as I know. Haven't had a virus on it since I bought it. My wife uses the free AVG program and she llikes that as well. What is the consensus as far as the quality and user friendliness of AVG. Do you recommend it?

Again, thanks in advance.
 
  #10  
Old 06-21-10, 07:24 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
From what the bit wranglesrs write in other forums McAfee is about as bad as Norton.
 
  #11  
Old 06-21-10, 01:03 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,392
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
I used AVG for a long time until version 8.0 came out and it turned into the resource hog it claimed to be the alternative to. I switched to Avast at that point and have been very happy with them.
 
  #12  
Old 06-21-10, 02:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NEw Hampshire
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you're running Windows you can use Microsoft Security Essentials which is free from MS and surprisingly good. I have used all of them over the years and they all tend to bloat with age but MS Security Essentials does the job.

Or better yet switch to Linux.
 
  #13  
Old 06-22-10, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, got rid of Norton via the add/remove programs. Installed Firefox right away and downloaded AVG. So far so good. Everything seems to be running v ery smoothly.

Thanks again for the advice.
 
  #14  
Old 07-14-10, 05:54 AM
Nyams Joshua's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kenya
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I used Norton but it did not perform as i expected. I switched to AVG.
 
  #15  
Old 07-16-10, 12:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,141
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Norton

I have used Avg, McAfee, Norton, MSE and a few others.
Norton used to be so bad I hated Symantec and refused to run any of their products including Ghost; but have ended up with it after reading then trying the Norton Security Suite 2010.
Read some of the reviews.
Check your resources while it runs and you will see they have really improved the product.
The do a quick idle scan when you are not using the machine often and a full scan once a week again while not in use.
Definitions are downloaded every 4 minutes rather than daily or less.
I think the features included help me optimize my machine.
I admit to not using backup as I "image" instead.
Neither will I allow the reg cleaner to run.
Ask ten doctors a question and you will get ten different answers based upon different criteria.
Norton today is not the Norton of yesterday.
I let 2 weeks expire then ran MalwareBytes-Anti Malware and it could not find a single item.
Nothing being perfect this relativelylight footed program is doing a great job.
If you don't like suites, there are free programs out there that do a good job but when I am banking etc I want to be on the safe side of the router and solid protection.
 
  #16  
Old 08-07-10, 01:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have used Norton 360 since it came out. It does a great job, it is not a resource hog like in the past, I let it decide when to back itself up, tune itself up etc. It a set and forget suite.
 
  #17  
Old 08-07-10, 02:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,141
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Norton

The Suite I have is about the same.
Glad you too are happy -you are doing the right thing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: