Wireless internet - Windows 7 & Windows XP pro

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-10, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 930
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wireless internet - Windows 7 & Windows XP pro

Have a new Dell laptop with Windows 7 communicating with wireless Belkin router originally setup on a PC running Windows XP Pro. The wireless internet connection works but will often say network unavailable when clicking on internet links after googling something.

I didn't run the wireless network wizard on the XP machine because the Windows 7 machine recognized the network without a problem.

Should I run the wireless wiz on the xp machine?

New to Windows 7.
 

Last edited by Stumped1; 08-16-10 at 08:36 AM. Reason: corrections
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-10, 07:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it set to automatically connect to your network or manually?
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-10, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 930
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is set to connect automatically. It finds the network just fine, but if frequently says no connection, dsn unavailable.
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-10, 02:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Stumped1 View Post
It is set to connect automatically. It finds the network just fine, but if frequently says no connection, dsn unavailable.
Is it DSN or DNS? Do you know which part of the network you can't connect to? Local or the Internet? Whats the red X between When looking at the network and sharing center window?

Have you tried hard wiring it to see if you still have the same problem?
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-10, 02:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 930
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DNS. I can access the internet, the problem comes when i click on a link, or a website after a search. Not everytime, but enough to be a nuisance.
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-10, 09:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have you tried this?

To flush the DNS on Windows system, follow these steps:

1. Click the start button and navigate to the command prompt (Start > All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt)
2. Make sure that you right click on the command prompt application and choose "Run as Administrator"
3. Type in the command "ipconfig /flushdns"
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: