How to increase drive size

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-10, 12:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
How to increase drive size

My daughter has a computer that has a very small hard drive in it. It's not all that old but when she ordered it from Dell she got a very small drive for it. She cannot afford a new computer at this time.
It runs XP and she is happy with the speed but it does not have enough room to store everything.
Someone told me that I could just open it up, install a second and much bigger drive and transfer the information from the old one to the new one.
Is this pretty simple to do? And what should I expect to pay for a good drive?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-10, 01:11 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,103
This is about the simplest thing you can do with a computer besides installing memory. If it has XP it must be at least 3-4 yrs old..but it's not a big issue.

The easiest would be to just install a new drive and move things like music or pics onto the new drive. Nice drive for an older machine would probably be less than $50.

Can you give us a model and what info is available when you right click on the "my computer" icon (prob on the desktop) and select properties?
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-10, 01:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
You have the age about right. I cannot remember which Dell it is and it's not here at present it's at her house. I can get the information when she gets home this evening however.
I remember looking at it for her and it's got a very small drive. She has quite a few pix on it and that's a big problem space wise for her. She has very little room left on it.
My question is can she just clone (I am told the term is) the old drive and get rid of the old one once that is done. I am told you can just plug in the new drive and do that so she does not have to reload programs and updates and such again.
I am not afraid to install the new drive, I have done some reading about it. I guess it will just plug in on the cable and appear as a new drive.
But it's my understanding that I cannot transfer programs without cloning and that I know nothing about.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-10, 01:28 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,103
That's why I said to just add another drive and move pics and such over there...you don't have to mess with moving programs and the operating system (XP). There may be an easy way to clone a drive...and our PC experts may be able to tell you later...but for me it's easier to do it my way.

You could use an external harddrive...but that adds expense.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-10, 01:37 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,214
Likes Received: 33
I would just add a second drive as a slave and store the pictures there
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-10, 02:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
OK, I guess I could just do that and leave her programs where they are at?
It works, it's just small.
I see several types of drives out there like SATA and IDE I think they are. Is one any better than the other.
All she does is email and simple programs, no gaming or anything like that.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-10, 02:21 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,103
You need the model info before you start looking at drives. Some machines won't support some drives. Get the info requested and let us know..plenty of options after that.
 
  #8  
Old 09-25-10, 12:28 AM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Get us the model of the computer. But there is a program that will clone drives quite nicely. It's on the Western Digital site, and it's called Acronis True Image. I have used it a few times. I just used it yesterday to clone the drive in my media server to another bigger drive. It copies EVERYTHING and you don't need to reinstall anything at all.
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-10, 08:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
OK, thanks, my daughter had to leave town for the weekend so it will be a few days before I get the information on her computer.
What do I need to know before I buy a drive for her?
 

Last edited by keninaz; 09-25-10 at 09:58 AM.
  #10  
Old 09-26-10, 05:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
If it's a Dell it will have a service code number somewhere on the machine. Post that along with the model number. Those numbers will tell you and us what type(s) of HHDs are compatible.
 
  #11  
Old 09-26-10, 07:34 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
I just helped a friend out on a similar issue where replacing the HD wasn't a option . I would get a USB external drive (for about the same money as a HD )and move the pictures there , it would double as backup device and is simply plug and play . bring it home ., plug it in and your good to go , it doesn't matter what OS or what Box you have
 
  #12  
Old 09-26-10, 07:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
Yes I had thought of that and it might be a simpler solution for her I suppose.
I don't know how much of her very small HD is taken up with programs at this point as I have not looked close yet.
You cannot move programs from one drive to another can you? I think if you could this would be a lot easier to do.
 
  #13  
Old 09-26-10, 07:40 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Im running xp pro on a Dell P4 here with a 40 gb HD and using less than half that , the orginal drive should be more than adequate for the programs she has .
 
  #14  
Old 09-26-10, 08:08 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,103
Heres something I meant to ask...is it a laptop or a desktop? Laptops can be much harder to change drives..and I don't think they ever have a place for a 2nd drive.
 
  #15  
Old 09-26-10, 08:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
It is a desktop and I know it's a Dell Brand but at this point until she gets back home that's all I know.
 
  #16  
Old 09-27-10, 08:33 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,214
Likes Received: 33
Never thought of it even though it's what I do - I have three computers (2 laptop, 1 desktop) and have a USB external HD hooked up to each as a 2nd drive - also makes backing up and storing backups off site easy, as the drives are portable and compatible across all three machines
 
  #17  
Old 09-27-10, 09:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 279
After thinking about this problem I think I will just buy her an external.
It eliminates problems with cloning and all for me and I see the prices are very reasonable out there.
Her primary does work, it's just small. So I will have her leave her programs on her primary and move the data to the external.
Are there any brands out there I should avoid? I will assume that a 7200 will do her just fine.
And this way when she does get the money for a new computer and chooses to replace it she can keep the external as a backup.
 
  #18  
Old 09-27-10, 10:02 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,214
Likes Received: 33
I buy Seagate Free Agent Go external drives

They're not the cheapest but a buddy of mine builds PCs as a hobby and says that's the brand he likes best

Also, buy online - newegg.com is usually quite a bit cheaper than an electronics or office supply store
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes