Home Server

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-10, 06:11 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Home Server

Ok, I have a sever in my home running Windows XP Pro. I use remote desktop to manage the server. As long as I'm on the LAN at home I can access the server. I want to be able to use Remote Desktop to also be able to access the server when I'm away from home. I can access my router remotely because I have that feature enabled in the router itself. What else do I need to do to be able to access my server when I'm away from home? If it matters it's a Belkin router.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-31-10, 06:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 283
you'll need a service like go to my pc or a fixed ip to locate your server, i have used the free service from dyndns.com to register your free domainn and assign a fixed ip to your domain, from there either the router or the server ( with a small vpn client software installed ) let dyndns.com know what your current IP is, from there remote login is easy
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-10, 07:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 461
I use Dyndns to create a static ip address. Best of all its free and most routers will automatically update to dyndns. if your router dosent do that, then just run the client on your pc. I then use Ultra VNC to access my computers from the road. You install the server on your pc and adjust all the settings. Install the viewer on your laptop or whatever you use and you will now be able to log in to your computers from free from anywhere in the world
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes