hard drives

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-10, 08:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ma
Posts: 97
hard drives

have another post about an hp laptop hard drive needing to replace. do i have to get an oem hard drive at a cost of acouple hundred dollars or can i get an after market one at a cost of say between 125.00 and 60.00. also the hd in there is a 320dh can i up it to say a 1tig,putting in 2 500g hd (has two hd bays OR SHOULD I JUST MAKE IT A 500G HD . THANK YOU K
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-10, 10:49 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,212
Likes Received: 33
Harddrives have gotten cheap

I buy Seagate

I'd put in the biggest drive which will fit in the space
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-10, 12:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,695
Likes Received: 10
Ther is no reason to get a OEM hard drive. Likely when you crack open the case you will find it is made by Western Digital, IBM, Maxtor or some other name brand.

I also use Seagate but have had one fail. I still use them anyway as they are highly rated.
 
  #4  
Old 11-15-10, 04:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ma
Posts: 97
i can upgrade ram to 8g but do you know how much hard disk can be installed . hp pavillion dv7 series has 4 g now of ram and 320 hd [which is ng]is it over kill for putting in a 1tg hard disk. 8g upgrade on ram will be in future.
 
  #5  
Old 11-15-10, 06:04 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,212
Likes Received: 33
I don't think there's such a thing as overkill when it comes to storage space

Pictures and music can hog a lot of space if you store things like that

I don't know how to figure it but a laptop has limited space inside so there may be drives which won't fit
 
  #6  
Old 11-15-10, 06:32 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,695
Likes Received: 10
HD size is not dictated by the mother board like RAM is, it is dictated by the OS. Windows XP will allow a max of 2TB and Windows 7 is ...um...huge!

BTW - your max RAM will be dictated by both the mother board and the OS.. Go to HP's page and look to see what yours is. Max RAM will depend on what OS you have.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes