Why is my Skype not loading after logging in?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-27-10, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 221
Why is my Skype not loading after logging in?

Sign in and it pops up like it's loading then quickly closes.

I am using a company issued laptop which is Windows XP with the latest service pack; Cisco Security Agent 4.0; Symatec anti-virus. Windows firewall is on but exceptions is unchecked.

I have completly uninstalled including registry etc per instructions found on skype.com and reinstalled. Even to another location than the default.

I've spent a lot of time and come up short and extemely frustrated. Wife is in Germany and we had planned on Skype as a the main means to communicate end of day. Mine had worked last year (last time I used it) on same computer. Is it the service pack update? or maybe the updated Skype 5.0 version against the Cisco 4.0 version? Anything I can do locally on the laptop like some setting, or option to check/uncheck etc?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-10, 09:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 221
Well I uninstalled skype 5.0 and installed loder version 4.2.0.166 and now it at least opnes. Haven't made a call yet since it;s late, but when i do a user search to add to my contacts, it crahses and closes.

There's definitely a difference between new and old. I'm thinking it might have to do with the fact 5.0 interfaces with Facebook and my company installed Cisco Security Systems blocks Facebook. But why the contacts in th eolder version i wonder? It never before?
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-10, 10:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
I think Google Call is only 10 a minute for oveseas calls. In a pinch you might try it. I use it all the time for US calls and it works well. Just a small download to get it to work. Look near the bottom left of Gmail for "Call Phone" below chat.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-10, 08:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 221
Turns out the version of the Cisco Security Agent on my laptop was causing the problem. It was not compatible with the latest version of Skype (5.0). My IT deptartment uninstalled the old, and reinstalled the latest version and voila, problem solved.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes