blue screen


  #1  
Old 01-29-11, 12:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
blue screen

Got a blue screen, with a wind32k.sys error. Said check for bios updates. How do I check for these updates?
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-11, 04:53 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Download and run memtest86+. If that doesn't show any issues, post back with the computer's specs. If you can, include the type of video card.
 
  #3  
Old 01-30-11, 06:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
im sorry for being so dumb, but which one? There are a number of options on the link you gave above
 
  #4  
Old 01-30-11, 08:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
V4.20 Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip) would be a good choice. You will need to unzip it and burn it to a CD as an image file not a data file. If you don't have burner software you can use ISO Recorder
 
  #5  
Old 01-31-11, 05:27 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, i will give it a try this afternoon. I think the problem is version 10 of Avira premium anti virus software. Version 9 seemed to work fine but after an automatic update to 10 I have had all kinds of issues. They send one fix and another problem pops up. Finally removed it yesterday and did a system restore to the previous day and things seem to be better. I am going to contact them today a request a refund. Will get another anti virus software, any suggestions?
 
  #6  
Old 01-31-11, 06:13 PM
tldoug's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AVG Free - Antivirus Free Download | Free Virus Protection

I have been using AVG products for at least ten years and I have no reservations about recommending them.
 
  #7  
Old 02-01-11, 05:39 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,640
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
I quit using AVG when version 8.0 turned it into the resource hog it claimed to be the alterative to - switched to Avast and haven't looked back
 
  #8  
Old 02-01-11, 06:36 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Microsoft Security Essentials has also worked very well for me. Picked up a few things that most of the other freebies couldn't fix...
 
  #9  
Old 02-01-11, 07:31 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Free version seemed to work okay for me to but after i paid for the premium version I started having problems, especially after the auto updated from v 9 to 10
 
  #10  
Old 02-01-11, 08:54 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,640
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Thanks, Vic - forgot to mention I started using security essentials a few months ago in addition to Avast (hey, it's free, why not?)
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: