Has anyone tried the DD-WRT firmware upgrade on router


  #1  
Old 01-29-11, 05:32 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 692
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Has anyone tried the DD-WRT firmware upgrade on router

I am thinking of trying the DD-WRT firmware upgrade for my linksys wrt54g router to increase its signal range. Has anyone tried this method? I don't want to brick my router and wind up having to get another on. I read over the procedure but it isn't quite clear to me how to do it. Maybe I need to read through it again. Anyway, just wondered if there was anyone that had actually tried this? thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-01-11, 12:36 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 511
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I did a couple of years ago. I found it buggy and switched to Tomato firmware.

It still gives you the option to increase power, etc.

What version WRT54G do you have?
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-11, 01:53 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did it too. The method depends on what version router you have. It will say on the label next to the model number. It can be as easy as using the web interface or it could require TFTP.

I am also considering switching to Tomato though, but not due to the quality of DD (the build I have now is rock solid). I don't like the fact that the guy running the show (Brainslayer) is going down the same road as Sveasoft - he is doing it for profit now, which violates GPL and the open source concept, and smacks all the contributing developers in the face.
 
  #4  
Old 02-01-11, 04:56 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 692
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks a lot. I will check into what you guys refer to as "tomato". you don't have a link do you? thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: