1.4 HDMI Cables with Ethernet?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-11, 12:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1.4 HDMI Cables with Ethernet?

I am researching HDMI cables and I have a question. I am noticing that the new 1.4 cables have a built in Ethernet channel? Anyone know that this is for?

Vanco 277003X 28 AWG 3 ft 1.4 High Speed 1080p HDMI Cable CL3 Rated

What applications is this actually used? Is it saying this can be used like a network patch cable? Any insight on this will be much appreciated!
 

Last edited by jackinstaller; 02-09-11 at 12:39 AM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-09-11, 12:43 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,937
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Yes its like a built in ethernet cable but the devices it attached to have to support it.

Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-11, 11:38 PM
mukansamonkey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 120
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This looks like FUD to me. The thing you need to understand is that Ethernet isn't a physical cable type at all. It's a digital format. Standard Ethernet cables are basically 4-conductor copper (yeah I know they have 8 wires, but 4 of them aren't used. Go figure). So theoretically any cable with 4 or more wires can be used to run Ethernet, if the things it's plugged into support it. It can also be run across fiber optics. I don't think there's anything special about an HDMI cable that the Ethernet format can be run through it... I'm quite certain that this cable isn't somehow interchangeable with the common RJ45 Ethernet cables. Just another manufacturer trying to look special by claiming a "feature" that's actually part of the standard.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-11, 04:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have a look at this.

If the TV has an IP spigot ... and the device you're connecting to requires an IP connection ... and both the TV and the device conform to the HDMI 1.4 ethernet standard ... the device can use the HDMI 1.4 cable to access the TV's IP connection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: