sound

Old 01-01-01, 08:26 PM
al valdez
Visiting Guest
I have had my computer for approx. 6 months and have windows 98. My son came over and tried to play a cd and had no sound. He tells me that it is possible that i do not have a sound card installed. How can i check this . and if i don't have one, how can i go about installing one. i am pretty new at this. thanks for your help. Al

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-01, 02:21 AM
look at the back of your computer , you should be able to see the connections for the sound card if there is one. The connections wgich are all close together are speakers out/line out, microphone inport, line in, and a joystick/midi connector. If you have a joystick attached, check the connections beside it, usually the joystick connector is part of the sound card.

You could also click on your start button, settings, control panel, system icon, system device tab, stroll down to the heading SOUND, VIDEO AND GAME CONTROLLERS, see what is listed under thios heading, if there is a sound card listed and there is no question mark, or explaimation mark, then it usaully means one exists but mmay not have any speakers looked to it. If it does not, it may mean it doesn't exist or doesn't have a driver installed. If there is a question mark or explaimation mark, it usually means that the driver is not installed or the wrong driver is installed.

To install a sound card , you can buy them anywhere from