System Hangs

Old 01-03-01, 12:14 PM
Marshall Buttrey
Visiting Guest
I recently started playing Pinochle on the Yahoo game site. (It's a card game). After I play for about 2 hours my PC sometimes hangs. When I Ctrl/Alt/Del I get a message that system resources are dangerously low and that I should stop the application. I can't stop it, and the only way out is to Ctrl/Alt/Del again to re-boot.

All seems well on my Resource Meter, even just prior to the hang.

I suspect this is the infamous MS memory leakage problem, but can't prove it. I am running Win 98 on a 333 E-Machine, with 32 Meg. (I have 128 Meg. on order (back-ordered of course))

How can I prove the culprit? Also, what is GDI resources on the Resource Meter? The accronym escapes my senile memory and I find nothing in Windows Help.

Thanks in Advance

Marshall Buttrey

Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-01, 10:01 AM
I am not really sure the exact problem in this instance , hopefully someone may have a more precise answer. I just wanted to make some comments. 32 megs is really the absolute min you need to operate that system, I would recommend at least 64 meg of memory , your 128 that you have on order will serve you well. I personally don't worry if a single game has a problem , there are lots more that will work perfectly, and if all the applications work good, I don't worry about it. However if it is a favorate game, the person may have a differemt view. The stack may be getting too large, and/or it could be as you said. Hopefully your new memory will arrive soon and hopefully you will notice a performance difference.

perhaps others could be more specific on the cause.

Old 01-04-01, 12:59 PM
Marshall Buttrey
Visiting Guest
Thanks dkerr. Mem scheduled to ship Friday, but we all know how that goes.

The game is not only my favorite, but now my wife's favorite. I might get to buy a new PC just so I can use one. (Not all bad)