Backups

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-11, 01:58 PM
dinky's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 120
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Backups

Do I have another good one for all you guys. I finally got my computer to show my bookmarks. I don't know what I did, either. Now for a new one. My wife's XP computer went south on us. I had to get her a new HP Pavilion with Win 7 Home Premium. How can I get her files off her external HD and put them on the new computer?? Will I have to install all her programs first, and then put her files on? She has to have her games. Again, thanks a bunch in advance. dinky,the guy.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-03-11, 02:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,549
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Files

Connect the external hard drive to the new computer. Go to Windows Explorer. (Not Internet Explorer!) Look for the external drive letter. You files should be there.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-11, 02:20 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,308
Received 47 Votes on 44 Posts
Files are typically drag and drop once the external drive is hooked up to the PC. Usually, you don't need the applications to move the files, just to access them.
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-11, 04:35 PM
dinky's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 120
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys. Sorry for not getting back sooner, we has a electrical substation blow on Wednesday. We finally got power this early afternoon. dinky
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-11, 08:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dinky View Post
Thanks guys. Sorry for not getting back sooner, we has a electrical substation blow on Wednesday. We finally got power this early afternoon. dinky
You guys are going through some horrible heat down there. SE Pa only had a short spell of that real bad stuff. Hope it ends soon down there and all the electric grid holds up!
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-11, 08:47 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,310
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
Mr. Dinky you know programs and games do have to be installed first. You can't just copy folders over because of system files needed. Then, any personal files, saved games, etc. can be copied over.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: