How do I find what is slowing down my computer?

Closed Thread

Old 08-18-11, 03:36 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I find what is slowing down my computer?

Running Windows 7 64bit

I have run spybot and malware anti-malware programs and they don't find anything. How can I check and see what is slowing down my computer? I really don't want to do a restore but if it comes to that I will. Computer is had not gotten so slow that it is a really big problem yet but it is slowly heading that way. I also run Firefox and there are gettting to be more times that it is slow and shows "not responding" then picks back up. If someone can help me, thanks ahead of time. I have some computer experience but definitely a novice. So if you send explanations I will do my best to follow them but may have future questions on steps.

I am thinking it is probably something that is running in the backround and things that run at start up that either didn't use to or didn't use to be there at all. Thanks again.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-18-11, 05:45 AM
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Disk Cleabup

Run disk cleanup as a first step. This removes temporary files and other unnecessary "stuff".

Old 08-18-11, 06:52 AM
Group Moderator
Received 41 Votes on 38 Posts
Pull up the task manager when it's running slowly and see what processes are running

Old 08-18-11, 08:41 AM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Is it your internet thats slow, or the computer itself? Are you wired or wirless?

For internet this always works for me.

1. Power cycle (turn off and then turn on after 10 to 15 seconds) modem and computer. Remove the power cord from the modem and/or router, wait at least 10 seconds, and then plug the modem and/or router back in.
2. Remove the hub and check the status by directly connecting the computer to modem.
3. Open Network by right-clicking the network icon in the desktop, and then right clicking the right adapter and click repair.