Can view Youtube video

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-11, 04:50 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,956
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Can't view Youtube video

Running Vista 32 bit with IE9 and suddenly I can't view Youtube videos, store circulars and Facebook. I have the latest Adobe Flash and plugin and Java Script. I must be missing something. My 2 Windows 7 computers are OK. Your help is appreciated...................THANKS
 

Last edited by johnam; 10-13-11 at 05:31 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-11, 07:45 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Have you tried other browsers (Firefox, Seamonkey, Opera)?
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-11, 08:22 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,308
Received 47 Votes on 44 Posts
Generally speaking, computers don't just stop working, they respond differently because the parameters changed.

So, what's different now than the last time you could view youtube videos? Installed any programs, updates, patches,...?
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-11, 09:42 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,956
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Prior to this problem, I did install and have tried Firefox, updated Java and downloaded some Micosoft Updates and got the same results.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-11, 09:55 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,308
Received 47 Votes on 44 Posts
Sorry, I don't understand your last post - you had this happen before after downloading Java and Microsoft updates?
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-11, 11:01 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,956
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Sorry..............I installed Firefox before the problem and both Firefox and IE worked OK with Youtube etc. I updated Java and downloaded Micosoft Update and then the problem began.
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-11, 11:05 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,308
Received 47 Votes on 44 Posts
Can you do a system restore to before the MS and Java updates? They seem likely to be the cause to me.

If not, you could try uninstalling them (one by one, possibly) to see if that helps.
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-11, 11:08 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,107
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ahhh...that explains a lot. Either the Java or the MS update was bad. I've had that happen occasionally. Get an update and then certain sites don't work right for a day or 2. I think it might be that it takes them longer to do the updates than it does for us individual users.

Dunno whether you would want to try rolling back to a different version (or if you even can)..but most times the sites will catch up in just a day or so.
 
  #9  
Old 10-13-11, 12:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
John I don’t know if this will help much since I jumped all over the place looking into this, but I had a related problem. I have Vista/32 with IE9 and all of a sudden one day YouTube, news sites, etc. started tell me I needed the latest Flash Player to view the videos? I would be directed to the Adobe site to load the latest Flash Player and each time the install would fail. The install program was downloaded OK but upon execution would just sit in my computer with a “running” status – forever. No notifications at all.

Tried to jump up on the learning curve and turned ActiveX scripting on/off and played with Internet Options-->Security-->Custom Level to make sure Active Scripting was enabled for Internet and Intranet. Trying to figure out why a new Flash Player install wouldn’t work? Never mind why I needed a new one all of a sudden?

In the weeks prior seems like I had downloaded some new Java code (guess I reacted to a pop-up prompt?). I had downloaded Windows Updates weeks prior to experiencing the problem, but I don’t know whether the Flash Player problem started with the Windows Updates, or later? I uninstalled the old Flash Player but the new install still wouldn’t work.

Anyway one day all of a sudden I was able to download and install the new Flash Player. Seemed like turning ActiveX filtering off did the trick – but I think that was just a coincidence, I don’t think it was that simple and I don’t think I missed that earlier. So I really don’t know why the install finally worked. I didn’t roll back any Java or MS updates. But this is the version of Flash Player I finally downloaded and works:

Shockwave Flash Object ----10.3.183.7

Maybe you could uninstall your Flash Player and download it again! Might help.
 
  #10  
Old 10-14-11, 08:17 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,956
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thanks guys.............I have tried all your suggestions, some more than once, and the only thing that changed is that I can view the Facebook page. I made sure that Java and Flash were properly installed and working and that Scripts were enabled. I've restored back to different dates. Time for a break......I will let you know how I make out.
 
  #11  
Old 10-15-11, 12:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The commonality of the problem seems to be Flash. In my experience (and obviously zoesdad's), Adobe Flash is a necessary evil that keeps getting updated with no notice to the programmers who use that platform to display their wares. If you don't have the latest & greatest Flash plug-in, everything that was working before will suddenly stop working. Apparently the writers of Flash code don't conform to or don't care about the basic standards of computer programming: backwards compatibility.

Between Java, Flash and other web browser plug-in updates -- and almost daily upgrades to operating systems and web browsers -- we are spending more time nowadays updating this loosely connected mish-mosh than we are using the darned computers!
 
  #12  
Old 10-15-11, 09:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So sad! All true!.................
 
  #13  
Old 10-18-11, 10:08 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,956
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Still searching for help. I had someone try to correct the problem and he found nothing that worked. I found something in a forum that I don't understand but it works. If you change the http to https in the Youtube url, you can view the video. Can someone explain that? Control panel shows that Flash is installed but the Adobe test page does not recognize it. I also tried it in Firefox and Google Chrome.
 
  #14  
Old 10-18-11, 07:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: US
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A few suggestions for you. First, I'd download Malwarebytes and do a full system scan on your computer. It's possible you have some infection cause weird security issues. Once that scans clean (I'd recommend running it multiple times and updating in between) Then completely uninstall Adobe Flash and reboot. Then reinstall flash.

To answer your questions regarding http vs. https, https is a secure site. For instance, if you go to your banks website it'll be http, however, as soon as you login to your online banking you are routed to https as it's more secure. Which, in your case makes absolutely no sense since AFAIK youtube doesn't use https to view video. BTW, I'm assuming this is ANY youtube video correct?
 
  #15  
Old 10-19-11, 11:02 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,956
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I downloaded Malwarebytes and ran a full scan. It said it was up-to-date but if you think I should, I'll run it again later. I also found something that I don't understand. From Control Panel, Click on Flash, go to Advanced Tab, click Check Now and it shows the Flash animated Logo and the Version (11). The URL is an https. If I do the same thing from and Adobe test page, it doesn't show it and the URL is an http. I'm getting more and more confused!!!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: