PC AV Software

Old 11-20-11, 12:23 PM
W
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
PC AV Software

I have been using WebRoot anti virus software for quite a few years. I have become increasingly dissatisfied with it's performance . It seems that lately most of my PC issues have been related to WebRoot Security Essentials. A couple of months ago a virus got by undetected and it really hosed my PC. WebRoots response was "sorry about that we can't catch them all. Send us money and we'll help you fix it"

I'm looking for advice on a replacement. I have been doing a little research on the net but of course everybody has a differing opinion on what's the best. I did read some reviews that put WebRoot on the low end. I'm thinking about buying Kaspersky but I don't know much about it.

Old 11-20-11, 12:42 PM
Super Moderator
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I see no reason to pay for any AV if you are careful in your habits. As you can see..the AV companies are not very responsive to problems. MS Security Essentials has been working very well for me for over a year. I used to have AVG but it couldn't get rid of something it should have caught in the first place. I tried all the typical stuff and only MSSE took it out completely.

Avast is supposed to be good, but I've never used it.

Old 11-20-11, 12:47 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Use Linux as your OS and you won't need an antivirus or malware detector. I know going with a non MS OS seems a bit scary but since you can use it for free and try it out without installing nothing to loose.
KDE Desktop » PCLinuxOS

Old 11-20-11, 03:33 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I'm gonna try it, Ray. I'm downloading it to a thumbdrive, so I've got about 2 hours of downtime.

Old 11-20-11, 03:43 PM
Super Moderator
I think Ray owns stock in Linux....lol.

I did put it on my older laptop (that had French XP Pro when I got it) and it has been working just fine for what we need when traveling.