Problems Updating Firefox

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-12, 02:09 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problems Updating Firefox

Not sure why I keep getting this message on the Firefox Welcome screen but when I start it on my Windows 7 desktop it keeps saying you are not using the latest version of Firefox. I have updated it twice and even ran the update program as an administrator but the same message keeps coming up. The program runs fine but keeps showing that it wasn't updated. Anybody else have that same problem? By the way I have Firefox on my Windows XP laptop without any problems. Thank for your help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-11-12, 02:31 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,836
Received 642 Votes on 594 Posts
what version of firefox are you running on Windows 7? (help menu / about firefox)

Mine is 9.0.1
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-12, 06:39 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just checked on both my Windows 7 computer and my Windows XP computer and both say they have version 9.0.1 just like what you have Xsleeper. Only difference is when the main search page shows up which I kept as the default start page on both computers Windows 7 says I am not running the latest Firefox and Windows XP doesn't show that message. Now when I look at help and about Firefox both my laptop and my desktop say that I have the latest version. Really weird otherwise as I said it works fine it just has that annoying false message show up. I really can't figure that out maybe I will scan for viruses although I don't think there are any. Maybe they just made a mistake in their programming for Windows 7.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-12, 06:45 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,130
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i dumped firefox years ago. i use google chrome now
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-12, 04:02 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It only takes a few minutes to uninstall and reinstall FF. Before you uninstall, download the latest version from mozilla.org. Backup the Bookmarks and make sure you know the passwords to your sites.
 
  #6  
Old 01-12-12, 03:45 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for your help I had run the update as an administrator yesterday and today I looked at it and it was fine no problems at all. I also ran a scan of my system and let my computer run for several hours on its own as I did other things and everything was o.k. after the scan. Maybe it had something to do with Mozillas servers and the way it was communicating back. I will though uninstall and then re-install the software Rick as you suggest if I have further problems. I wish everyone a nice day!
 
  #7  
Old 01-30-12, 06:34 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I thought everything was fixed with Firefox but apparently not as the same message is there at start up of Fire Fox and I did uninstall and then re-install Fire Fox as you suggested Rick and no luck. I probably will let the Mozilla folks know about the problem though. Not really a big problem as the browser functions like it should it just has that annoying message at start up. It was funny because after my anti-virus did its scan it disappeared for at least a while. Anyway I thought I would update this and see if anyone had solved a similar problem.
 
  #8  
Old 01-31-12, 03:47 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Guess what everyone now the message is gone again. Hopefully it stays gone.
 
  #9  
Old 02-03-12, 02:56 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thought I would update anyone who looks at this. I did have the message reappear but Mozillas information page said something about resetting the home page to default which is what I did and I am happy to report that that finally fixed the problem. So anyone who reads this and has Windows 7 that is all you need to do. Afterwards you can navigate back to whatever extra website you might have as a home page and save that too.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: