Router for DOCSIS 3.0 Ultra100 Internet service

Old 01-23-12, 11:13 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Router for DOCSIS 3.0 Ultra100 Internet service

Hello all

This isn't necessarily a problem I'm having, but rather an inquiry for advice on purchasing a new router. I recently had Internet service upgraded at my home to our company's highest speed (Ultra100 - DOCSIS 3.0 - 100mbps down, 5mbps up) and have amazing results when connected directly to the modem. Consistently I get 96-102mbps down and 5.2mbps up. I should probably mention that I'm a line technician for this particular cable provider, so everything from the node to my modem is in perfectly capable order. Levels range anywhere from -1 to -2 on all four downstream channels with a 37-38 DS SNR and I have a 41 TX power at the modem with a 34.6 US SNR. Needless to say, service is wonderful.

ANYWAYS, my home is wired quite elaborately with multiple CAT5e lines to each room, all terminating at a patch panel and run to a 24-port gigabit switch. Network is fine, as well. BUT, my router is a bit outdated. It's a Netgear WGR-614 v9 Wireless G -- a 30 dollar cheap-o from Wal Mart. What I'm looking for are recommendations for a new router that could potentially allow me to pull close-to-DOCSIS speeds at some of my LAN devices. On any given day, I have a few devices that stay attached, but remain idle, such as a Wii, Blu-Ray, TiVO, etc. but for the most part, I use only one PC at a time, so I'm familiar with the fact that I won't get 100% of my bandwidth at any given point, even through Ethernet, simply due to miniscule losses through NAT, etc.

Any suggestions? I've seen several wireless-N routers that have gigabit WAN ports, and have been through a handful of forums, but most of them are outdated and refer to speeds such as 30mbps down, etc. I have no issues pulling 34-36mbps down and 5mbps up through my existing router, but it seems to only go that high.

Anyone have any ideas, please let me know.

Thanks!