networked printer/hdd


  #1  
Old 01-29-12, 05:11 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
networked printer/hdd

I am thinking of getting a new wireless router. I think I want to get a "N" router.
I want to connect an USB hub to this router so I can plug a printer in and a hard drive. Will this work? These would be accessible by anyone on the network.
 
  #2  
Old 01-29-12, 06:22 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Yes, unless you use WPA or WEP security when you set up the router. I use a wireless Lexmark 705 printer and everyone in the house can use it, but they all have access to the router via WPA coding. How do you plan on attaching the USB hub? You can run the printer directly off the CAT5 on the back of the router.
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-12, 07:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I was planning on using a usb hub so I could have both the printer and the hdd available on the network. I am thinking about getting a Roku or WD TV Live box and use the network drive to store pictures and movies. This way I can update it wirelessly.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-12, 06:51 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I got a new router a N600 DB from Belkin.
I hooked up both a NAS and a printer.
I have 1 desktop in the same room as the router and a laptop we move around.
The desktop can see both the printer and the NAS. I have no issues there.
The laptop will not see the printer.

I removed the printer from the laptop and asked it to find a network printer. It found it, installed the drivers. but would not print. I tried again. this time it would not find the printer at all.

It will see the NAS on the network.

Thoughts?
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-12, 07:01 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Likes on 70 Posts
What windows are you running? You need to go into the printer and faxes folder and add printer.

I hooked my printer right to the router. Then when to all the computers and added it in the start/settings/printer folder.

Mike NJ
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-12, 07:09 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
windows 7
so did i. worked fine for the desktop. the laptop is the one being stupid. everything else can see it
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-12, 08:20 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Likes on 70 Posts
When you go into add printer did you browse for the printer and it was not there? You may have to go to the desk top or go into the router and get the web address for the printer and manually input it.

I believe I have to do that on one labtop although it should be seen on the network by browsing for the network printer in the add printer wizard.

Mike NJ
 
  #8  
Old 02-11-12, 08:21 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
did both.
When I manually entered it, it was found but would not print
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: