Ubuntu Install

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-12, 06:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Ubuntu Install

I have a question for you Ray I thought the installation would go great as my computer that I was working on had a blank hard drive. Ubuntu said it would erase the hard drive or I could do otherwise. I thought o.k. let it erase the drive and then it should automatically partition just like in windows. The screen went blank and it didn't seem to be doing anything so I shut it off and then restarted.
I then thought o.k. it now says in the do otherwise that there are what looks like three partition areas I selected the first but it came up with an error and tried other partitions but there were error messages. It seems to work fine off the disk but not on the computer right now. So I know I am doing something wrong just not sure what as I have never used any version of linux and could sure use your advice. I think whatever you tell me will help Shinrich too. I agree with you too I think he should give his kids separate usb thumb drives that way they can use the computer anytime they want without having to worry about losing their data.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-12, 08:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
It has been many years since I tried Ubuntu and I really just can't answer your question. There are almost as many installers as there are flavors of Linux. It can take a while to format partitions. The larger the HD the longer it takes. There may or may not be any visual feed back so it may seem nothing is happening. What error messages?
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-12, 08:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Just remember it saying it had had an unspecified error whatever that means. The HD size is just 40gbs so it isn't very big Ray. If you can give me an idea of the amount of time based on your version alone that you were talking about I can just leave it alone and go about doing other things while it works. If Ubuntu doesn't work I certainly will use what you mentioned and then report back. Nice thing about it at least it only cost me a disk which is cheaper than that other OS. Thanks again Ray
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-12, 09:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Maybe five or ten minutes but that is a quick format. There is another type that checks all the blocks that is much slower. You kind of got my curiosity up. I may try installing Ubuntu in a virtual machine just out of curiosity.
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-12, 01:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I decided Ubuntu wasn't for me Ray it just doesn't like my computer for some reason. Anyway I will give the KDE Desktop a spin to see if that will work. The last time I tried Ubuntu it said it was closing down. Might work for some people but not for me. I know Linux has been around for a long time but it seems like there is more interest in it now than there was before so I thought why not Windows XP is getting old so lets try it. If this doesn't work though I may just go back to Windows XP as I have never had problems installing it.
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-12, 03:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
One reason that Linux is getting more attention is because the Android platform is built on it.
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-12, 05:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
I'm curious as to what version of Ubuntu you're using. I use it all the time at work. It's also the OS we use on most of the servers we sell and I can't say I recall running into that type of problem before.
 
  #8  
Old 03-13-12, 01:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
I thought o.k. let it erase the drive and then it should automatically partition just like in windows. The screen went blank and it didn't seem to be doing anything so I shut it off and then restarted.
Odd I just installed it on a virtual machine and didn't run into your problem. Did you click on "continue" after choosing "Erase Disk and Install"? When I did there was no delay. I got a new screen. On that screen it said "entire disk will be used" I clicked "Install Now" and the installation began.
 
  #9  
Old 03-13-12, 03:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I believe both of you but for some reason it doesn't want to install right. Could be my fairly new burner is at fault in getting it on the disk. Could be noise on the fiber optic line or it could be the old drive in my old Compaq isn't doing right. Right now I am erasing the disk Ray as Ubuntu could have been affecting the install of your version that I downloaded onto a dvd-r. In both cases I let Microsoft's on-board burner do the burning I never used Power2 Go which is on my computer too. Maybe I should have used Power2 Go I think though the outcome would have been the same either way. The reason I did that though is because that is what was on the instructions on the Ubuntu website. I doubt too that the burner is faulty as remember Ray I told you I had used programs on the disk and looked at the different things there. The disks themselves too were not warped or scratched so it is a mystery to me. One last thought maybe it is the hard drive going bad?
 
  #10  
Old 03-13-12, 03:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I tried the KDE desktop and no luck there I get a disk error 19, AX=4280, Drive F and Boot Failed: Press a key to retry. It starts up o.k. but doesn't go very far as far as installation is concerned. Not real important as I am just trying it but it would be nice if it did work.
 
  #11  
Old 03-13-12, 04:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
That seems to be a Windows boot error not a Linux boot error. Linux doesn't use alphabetical only drive descriptions. A Linux drive example would be "sda1". Did you burn the ISO as an Image file? it won't work if you burned it as a data file.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-13-12 at 04:40 PM.
  #12  
Old 03-13-12, 08:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I burned this as an image file not a data file but did use the Windows 7 burner not my other program I mentioned. Is there a linux burner that will work with windows and create a proper image file? Preferably free too? Or could I use Power2 Go and make it work better than with the windows burner?
 
  #13  
Old 03-13-12, 09:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Any software that burns an image should work. You might try ISO Recorder. It is free. Have you tried a new download? Is your computer Bios set to have CD first boot device?

Have you been able to run the live CD?
 
  #14  
Old 03-13-12, 11:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I haven't yet tried a new download but think I will right now and try it on my laptop instead. Yes I believe the first boot device is the CD drive on the desktop and I was able to run it live with Ubuntu but not with the other Linux. I will try that after I make one more attempt at it using ISO Recorder. I will let you know how it works.
 
  #15  
Old 03-14-12, 01:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
It looks a great deal different now Ray I am starting to see things I didn't see before so I think it is going to work. I will let you know later today.
 
  #16  
Old 03-14-12, 05:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
It still didn't want to work on my old computer and I checked the media on the KDE media linux install disk and it said the media had failed so I guess by media it meant the hard drive. Anyway I am out of cd-rs so I can't try anything more for a while. I will try it on an old laptop maybe it will do better there.
 
  #17  
Old 03-15-12, 10:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Usually that means the CD is bad. You are really beyond my skill level. For PCLOS I suggest you post in their help forum. Hard Drive Installation
 
  #18  
Old 03-16-12, 08:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I thought I would update you Ray as I tried Ubuntu on my laptop and it installed. Now it asks for a password when installing software. I wanted to install Wine which would allow me to use some Windows programs like some of the Adobe players but I wasn't able to because of the password. I used the same password I used when logging in but that didn't work. Any suggestions I know this isn't your favorite version but any advice would be appreciated. I just wonder too if maybe it was a bad install as when this starts it has vertical lines and then it starts. My wireless dongle was installed and I can go on the internet with Firefox but just seem to be having trouble installing other software. Thanks for your help!
 
  #19  
Old 03-16-12, 09:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Let me play around with the Ubuntu I have on VB when I get a chance but I know Ubuntu handles passwords differently and I'm not sure how to answer at this time.
 
  #20  
Old 03-16-12, 09:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
O.k. thanks Ray I appreciate the help!
 
  #21  
Old 03-17-12, 12:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Tried it and had no problem. You are aware passwords are case sensitive? Be sure you aren't using the wrong case for any letters.
 
  #22  
Old 03-17-12, 06:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Your install must have been better than mine Ray as I did use the same password that I used at login but couldn't download anything as the password being needed blocked it. I was also very careful as to how I put my password in as I know the password is case sensitive. Could be the next time I login it might work. Since I am new to this program I am wondering if there is an error checking program maybe something that could correct a problem like a bad password authorization program. I know Windows XP has an error checking program and a defrag program. Advice on what to look for will be helpful. I thank you again for your help.
I have one other question could I install another copy that was downloaded or could it be that the password requirement would block that too? If it didn't then maybe I could download PClinux and then get rid of Ubuntu.
 

Last edited by hedgeclippers; 03-17-12 at 06:33 PM. Reason: Additional question
  #23  
Old 03-17-12, 07:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
You can always choose to wipe the disk when you install a different OS. Note though you will have two passwords on PCLOS. One is your user password the other is your root password. The root password is used for things that require root permission like downloading and installing software.

sudo vs. su | TUX
 
  #24  
Old 03-17-12, 11:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
O.k. that is what I thought you can't install one linux over the other. Well it seems the problem is solved anyway. I tried downloading wine again and did something different I used the enter key on my keyboard instead of using the mouse when putting my password in the box. I don't know why but when using the mouse pointer and clicking on it it didn't work. I never had that kind of problem with Windows. For now I will just play with it a bit Ray and if I have any other questions I will certainly ask you. I will keep your information stored away about PClOS and may even print out what you said as it is valuable information. I think the reason why PCLOS wouldn't install is because I was using dvd-rs and the drive on the laptop wouldn't recognize the media. It is an old Gateway I was using to do my other tests. Thank you again!
 
  #25  
Old 03-17-12, 11:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
I used the enter key on my keyboard instead of using the mouse when putting my password in the box.
I never use a mouse to enter a password. I always use enter but it should work either way.

I think the reason why PCLOS wouldn't install is because I was using dvd-rs and the drive on the laptop wouldn't recognize the media.
I had a burner once that made media that for some reason wasn't recognized on any other drive. Worked on that drive fine but no other drive would see it.
 
  #26  
Old 03-18-12, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Maybe that was the case with my burner hard to say Ray. Ray I have one more question for you. I know that linux already has something that can read Adobe Reader files but I wanted to install Adobe Reader as that is what I am used to and to learn more about the operating system. I find out though that it is a bin file and I know you open the terminal client window and type in commands but I must be doing it wrong so I am asking you please if you would write down how you would open and install the file. I will give you the file name and then if you could please write down the proper syntax then I can take it from there. Here is the complete file name: AdbeRdr9.4.7-1_i486linux_enu.bin . That is exactly what the file name looks like so if you can simplify it for me it would be appreciated. Thanks again Ray!
 
  #27  
Old 03-18-12, 02:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Isn't Adobe reader in the Ubuntu repository? It is always best to install from the repository.
 
  #28  
Old 03-18-12, 02:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Where is the repository? Since I am new to this operating system and it is so different I don't know where to look. I still need to learn how to install a bin file too as I am sure I will come across that some time. Thank you!
 
  #29  
Old 03-18-12, 04:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
It is the Ubuntu Software Center six icons down on the left.
 
  #30  
Old 03-20-12, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I found the repository Ray thank you. Now I have another question I installed Wine fine and then looked at Wine through the Wine Tricks area and it had a Windows installer which I thought would help me install the Windows version of Adobe Reader since I didn't understand the .Bin install and I haven't seen Adobe Reader in the repository. I found programs like it but really wanted Adobe Reader.
Anyway to make a long story short the Windows installer will not work. There was a fix that I found with my Dell Axim I was using at the time but I haven't been able to find the information on my desktop or laptop using Google. I also haven't been able to find it on my Axim and think that history was erased automatically. Have you used Wine and do you know of the fix I am talking about? Thanks for your help!
 
  #31  
Old 03-20-12, 08:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
I do use Wine but only on programs that work easily. PCLOS has the Adobe reader so I have never tried to use the Windows version in Wine.
 
  #32  
Old 03-20-12, 08:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Do you think I should delete Wine and re-install it? There might be other programs I might want to install that are easier to deal with. Since I have never uninstalled a program in linux some tips will be helpful. Also is there a way to get programs from PCLOS repository without installing it through the Firefox browser in Ubuntu?
 
  #33  
Old 03-20-12, 09:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
PCLOS aps or built for PCLOS they wouldn't work on Ubuntu even if Ubuntu used RPMs which it doesn't. It uses Debs. Run a Google on "Dependency Hell" and you will see what I mean.You really need to be posting these questions in the Ubuntu forum. You're beyond my very limited skill level.
 
  #34  
Old 03-20-12, 10:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I wouldn't say you have limited skills in this Ray. You certainly know more than I do I knew nothing about Debs and RPMs. It is because of your help and your interest in Linux that had me interested. You are certainly to be commended you do a great job with a great deal of patience. By the way I think I found that fix for Windows installer in Wine use this link MSI - Wine-Wiki if you ever have a problem with it and scroll down to the bottom of the page where it says installing Microsoft MSI 2.0. . I still might use the Windows Adobe or I might use the .Bin installer after I learn more about installing .Bin files. If I get more cd-rs soon I will try PCLOS as it sounds a bit better. Thanks again!
 
  #35  
Old 03-21-12, 08:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Nice thing about PCLOS is it is a community distro not a corporate distro so if you need something you can talk directly to the package builders in the forums. Any reasonable request for a package usually gets it built in a couple of weeks. You just have to post your request in the New Software request forum. Next time you try an install you really need to ask your questions in that forum where they are more knowledgeable. You might want to buy a ready made CD instead of making your own.
 
  #36  
Old 03-21-12, 11:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I certainly will talk to them and I think PCLOS sounds better. As for buying the CD maybe and maybe not as my desktop burner isn't the only burner available I can use my Dell Laptops burner which does a great job. I still haven't bought more CD-Rs though and once I do will try it as I already have it downloaded and ready to put on a disk. Thanks to the program you told me about I will be using it to make an ISO recording of the disk. If I have problems though with the disk not working I certainly will buy a disk. I assume they are available on the website and probably at a reasonable cost. I like how they have Adobe reader already. To end this thread I do have just a few questions and all of them pertain to PCLOS. First question do you have the web page book marked for the CD so I could order it if I have trouble? If not I can probably find it. Next question could you also give me the download page again thank you. Lastly I was wondering if PCLOS has the Gnome video player. I noticed UBUNTUS wasn't any good at all and I really like Gnome it played a video right away. While I have decided that UBUNTU isn't for me as there seem to be some inconsistencies I have at least learned from it and what I like about any Linux is that you don't have to worry about copyright issues and you can sell a laptop or any other computer just about anywhere without having to worry about it. Having the most stable version though is important. Thank you again and while I have no more questions about UBUNTU I may about PCLOS but will try to keep them on that forum. I do have just one more question do you know of a good book that covers questions about PCLOS? I really want to learn more and help others learn more too both through this forum and offline who are interested. You really are a great teacher Ray!
 
  #37  
Old 03-22-12, 07:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
The pre-made disk is probably cheaper then a package of blanks if you buy by the 50 or 100 pack of blank CDs. OSDisc.com - Buy PCLinuxOS CDs and DVDs - New Releases. Low Prices.

The download site for the KDE version is KDE Desktop PCLinuxOS

There are several Video players to choose from that work well. While the version of PCLOS I gave you is the KDE desktop version there are several different desktop versions available including Gnome so you will find software in the repository specific to other desktops that will usually also run on KDE. If you want you could download the Gnome version or set it up to run multiple desktops choosing which one when you sign in. I gave you KDE because that is the one I like best. I have been banging my head trying to use Ubuntu because of the Gnome desktop. Just my opinion of course. If I had to use Ubuntu I would use Kbuntu.

No book on PCLOS. There is a tutorial Main Page - PCLinuxOShelp Knowledge Base. Also there is an online monthly magazine. Welcome to PCLinuxOS magazine!

Also see So cool ice cubes are jealous PCLinuxOS
 
  #38  
Old 03-22-12, 11:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
KDE seems to be a newer version than Gnome at least according to the CD page you sent me to. Do you think KDE is more stable than Gnome? I know you like it better which makes me think maybe that is the reason. Are there other reasons like maybe better browsers built in or maybe a better word processor? I also wanted to thank you for the CD page as the prices are very reasonable. I am going to be buying CD-Rs anyway as I use them to back up what little bit I do on my desktop in the way of word processing documents but will definitely keep the page book marked in case I have any difficulties. Those really are my final questions so you can either close the thread or leave it open for someone else who might have a question. If I ever do have any questions about PCLOS I will title the question with the name PCLOS. Don't worry I will try to keep those posts on the PCLOS forum page. I know I asked about PCLOS books but was wondering if there are any general books on linux that you can recommend? Thanks again!
 
  #39  
Old 03-23-12, 12:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
KDE seems to be a newer version than Gnome at least according to the CD page you sent me to.
Because PCLOS is a rolling update distro you would simply open the package manager after installation and update to the latest version.

Do you think KDE is more stable than Gnome? I know you like it better which makes me think maybe that is the reason.
The operating system is the same whatever desktop is used and PCLOS is a very stable OS. My reason for liking KDE is I find it more intuitive and easy to use.

Are there other reasons like maybe better browsers built in or maybe a better word processor?
The desktop has nothing to do with the programs you use. It is the same programs regardless of the Desktop because it is the OS that runs the programs not the desktop. As to browsers you have Firefox, Opera, and Seamonkey same as in Windows plus three or four that are Linux only. There are at least three different office suites to choose from, all of which can use MS Office file formats. Libre Office is the main one but there is KOffice and Abby Word which is basically a word processor. It is also possible to run some older versions of MS Office under Wine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes