Modem speed

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-28-12, 01:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,188
Modem speed

I have a Motorola Surfboard DOCSIS 2.0 modem provided (rented) by my ISP. I'm tired of paying $7 a month for a $60 modem and I plan on replacing it.

The modem is rated at 32MB A speed test on my connection indicates an upload speed of 16 MB and a download speed of 4 MB. If I upgrade to a DOCSIS 3.0 rated at 128 MB will I see any improvement in performance?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-12, 02:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
It might be o.k. it certainly says it is faster than what you already have on the Amazon.com website. However there have been some who have said that it hasn't been completely compatible with Comcast's system so if you have Comcast you might want to check on other router modems and then check on Amazon.com to see the reviews there. I usually check there most of the time to see the reviews and see what they are saying about whatever I might want to buy. It has helped me in making a decision more than once. Reviews aside though Motorola is an excellent brand but just might or might not be a good fit for you. Good luck to you! Here is a link to the web page Amazon.com: Motorola SB6120 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem: Electronics
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-12, 03:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
There are a couple of things you have to think about. First, if you move up to Docsis 3.0 you need to make sure that your area will be able to use it. If you have Comcast, they've been buying up smaller cable companies but may not have upgraded their systems to take advantage of it yet. The second thing to think about is whether your speed is capped by your ISP. If it is then upgrading isn't necessarily going to make a big difference. You can call your ISP and double check to see if they do in fact support the newer standard. You will also have to call them to get re provisioned with your new hardware - this shouldn't be too painful. I would try to stay with the same brand that your ISP uses since they technically will not provide tech support if you provide your own cable modem but might be willing to help you if the modem is one they are familiar with. Looking at the long term savings, I would consider buying my own modem too. Good luck with your endeavors.

Mike
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes