Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

video card


's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

01-22-01, 04:56 AM   #1  
hi,
how do i find out what video card i have in my system?
i have some newer games i try to run that do not work so well. like i need a 3D accelarator. 8mb memory. i think my pc has just a generic card. could you recommend a good video card that would work with most newer games. i have a celron processor 500MH. And any information on installing the card too, and is the sound card extra. i would like to upgrade both with something good. what would the cost be.
sorry so many questions thanks again rick

 
Sponsored Links
dkerr's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,165
CANADA

01-22-01, 07:38 AM   #2  
Start / settings / control panel ,
click on system, then on device manager tab
click on the + to the left of where it says display adapter

Replacing with new card, usually just a matter of removing one card and replacing with another , and installing the proper drivers for the new card. You will need to know what kind of card slot before looking for a new card. PCI or AGP, there is also ISA cards available, I prefer to stay with PCI or AGP if you computer has that slot. Almost all computers have PCI slots, depending on your motherboard it may or may not have an AGP slot. Most of the more recent manufactured boards do, but know before you buy. If you know your motherboard name , we can get the spec for it on the net. AGP is for video only, PCI can be used for video , sound , modems , etc. Does your video and sound onboard the motherboard and not by an separate card ? If so the on-board video or sound my have to be disabled perhaps even in the bios before another card will work. You best friend would be a motherboard manual , it would give you all that information that you need.

http://www.motherboards.org

which site will provide links to the info you want, need the motherboard name.

Video and audio are separate cards unless they are actually onboard the motherboard.

Computers cards can be modestly priced or expensive, you can get a descent video card fro under $ 50 or you can pay 200 to 300, depends and what your budget is, if you wan to play the most complex and graphic intense game then you might need a more expensive card, I use modestly priced cards and what doesn't run with it, doesn't run, for every one game that won't run there is another 100 that will.

The same with sound, how much of an hi-fi audio nut are you, speakers can be make a bit difference in sound, no point in buying an expensive sound card and put sheap speakers on it.


 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

01-22-01, 11:08 AM   #3  
dkerr

hi,
thanks for all the info, i do have the book for the motherboard, i do not know what i am looking for. but i will try. thanks for all the info.
Rick

 
dkerr's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,165
CANADA

01-23-01, 06:27 AM   #4  
Re: dkerr

Originally posted by rickka
hi,
thanks for all the info, i do have the book for the motherboard, i do not know what i am looking for. but i will try. thanks for all the info.
Rick
It should all be in the motherboard book, give me the make/model number of motherboard and I will most likely find the info.

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

01-23-01, 09:28 AM   #5  
mainboard

on the outside of the maual it just says P6SET-ML.
i do not see a name ok thanks

 
dkerr's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,165
CANADA

01-24-01, 10:36 AM   #6  
Re: mainboard


http://www.ecs.com.tw/ecs/ecs/p6set-ml/p6set-ml.htm
http://www.robotnik.com/computer/big.../p6set-ml.html
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ecs/ecs/p6set-ml/p6set-ml-j.htm

I ran a search on P6SET-ML on the internet
The 3 sites above has a lot of info on this board.

Apparently it can support pentium III , pentium II, Celeron PPGA, & Celeron cpu's . It has on board vga (agp) built into the motherboard, and on board audio. On-board 56k modem and on-board LAN (network) chip.

http://www.asus.com.tw/chinese/techr...620/index.html

this has more info on SIS620 chip set including on its AGP video which is embedded in SIS620

There are jumpers on the mother board to enable/disable on-board audio/Lan/modem.

The one thing it seems to be lacking is PCI slots, it appears to only have 1 available PCI slot and one ISA SLOT. I guess they feel that since there is so much intergrated on-board that you don't need as many slots. On-board audio could be disabled and a PCI audio card inserted into the system.

I personal feeling is that this is a good board, but has built much of what you need into the motherboard itself, and although upgrade is possible for audio or video cards thru the use of the 1 PCI slot and 1 ISA slot, (I always prefer using PCI over ISA but you appear to have only 1 of each available) I would recommend that you live with it. It is expanable as far as memory goes, CPU can be upgraded.

If you have a family, you can always use a 2nd computer, and at some point you could consider one with different expansion considerations taken into account in your selection of computer. Based on the info that I could find , upgrading both video and audio , means 1 must be a ISA card and 1 must be a PCI card, and on-board video or audio would have be be diabled.

Some motherboards have on-board intergation like this one, others do not have this intergration but provides more PCI slots, AGP slot, that then you can decide (not the manufacturer) what kind of card would be used.



Read thru your manual it might provide more info than I came up with.



 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

01-25-01, 04:04 AM   #7  
dkerr help

hi dkerr,
thanks for the extensive search. i did try to install a pci video card, and i could not disable the old one, even in the manual it does not show a jumper for this.
i know the vga is in the sis620 chip. in the bios do i need to assign IRQ for VGA? default is disable, what i did do in the bios is enabled the PCI/VGA palette snoop.when i first installed the card , first thing it was looking for new hardware my monitor, there must be a jumper to disable the video. there is one for every thing else. you can e-mail me at [email protected] once again i appreciate the help.. one day i am going to build my own pc i hope. and use this one for a backup.. i did buy 128m memory and the video card is tnt2. maybe i will take it and have it installed. would rather not though. in the device manager when i loaded the software for the new card it was sayine the device is working ok, but also said that for the existing video sis620. neither worked so i took the card out and i am in the same place. thanks

 
dkerr's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,165
CANADA

01-25-01, 07:33 AM   #8  
I can't seem to find the instructions on how to disable the on-board video. But I have found contact info for technical support for this board as listed below for the headquakers, as well as US & Canada.

__________________________________________________________
Elitegroup Computer Systems Co., Ltd. -- Headquarters

http://www.ecs.com.tw/
5F, No. 22, Alley 38, Lane 91, Sec. 1, Nei Hu Rd., Taipei, Taiwan 144, R.O.C.
Tel: +886-2-2797-5266
Fax: +886-2-2797-1388
Marketing E-mail: [email protected]
Sales E-mail: [email protected]
Technical Support: [email protected]
____________________________________________________________
Elitegroup Computer Systems Inc. -- U.S.A.

http://www.ecsusa.com/
45401 Research Ave, Fremont, CA 94539, U.S.A.
Tel: +1-510-2267333
Fax: +1-510-2267350
Sales E-mail: [email protected]
Technical Support: [email protected]
___________________________________________________________
Elitegroup Computer Systems Ltd. -- Canada

44 East Beaver Creek Rd., Unit 14, Richmond Hill, Ontario L4B 1G8, Canada
Tel: +1-905-7711602
Fax: +1-905-7711605
Sales E-mail: [email protected]


 
Search this Thread