Chrome and doityourself.com acting up

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 11-12-12, 04:01 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,139
Received 195 Votes on 181 Posts
Chrome and doityourself.com acting up

Cant get the website to load from Chrome... get this error page:

Error 503 Service Unavailable

Service Unavailable

Guru Meditation:

XID: 1592175982

Varnish cache server


________________

any idea what this means? It loads from Firefox just fine.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-12, 04:03 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,806
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
Got that in FF also a few hours ago. It just went away............

Those darn Gurus mediating....
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 04:18 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,139
Received 195 Votes on 181 Posts
huh. just happened once with Firefox too... at least I got on... LOL
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-12, 04:23 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,817
Received 198 Votes on 183 Posts
It's been happening to me off & on throughout the day. Hopefully they're moving the post a picture feature back to where it belongs.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-12, 04:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Been happening all day. Either maintenance or too many connections.
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-12, 04:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kept getting the same thing (ERROR 503) with Chrome a few hours ago. Seems OK now.
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-12, 05:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Guys/Gals it is server side. It doesn't matter what browser you use.
 
  #8  
Old 11-12-12, 06:11 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,139
Received 195 Votes on 181 Posts
It does matter, at least for me. Chrome won't load anything... and hasn't all afternoon & evening. Firefox has worked fine, with just one exception.

Maybe Chrome is more time sensitive when it comes to loading pages.
 
  #9  
Old 11-12-12, 06:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi guys –

Just FYI. I found the definition below. Yes, unless Chrome would have some really bizarre bug where it gets confused and spits out spurious errors, it does look like the problem is all on the server side and would have to be Browser independent.

HTTP Error 503 - Service unavailable

The Web server (running the Web site) is currently unable to handle the HTTP request due to a temporary overloading or maintenance of the server. The implication is that this is a temporary condition which will be alleviated after some delay. Some servers in this state may also simply refuse the socket connection, in which case a different error may be generated because the socket creation timed out.


This error occurs in the final step above when the client receives an HTTP status code that it recognises as '503'.
 
  #10  
Old 11-12-12, 07:41 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,139
Received 195 Votes on 181 Posts
Shut Chrome down and restarted... its fine now.
 
  #11  
Old 11-13-12, 04:45 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,817
Received 198 Votes on 183 Posts
Yes, even when DIY was not loading and spitting that error I was able to load other websites including forums running similar software.
 
  #12  
Old 11-13-12, 05:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,079
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
Same here, it seemed to be an intermittent problem yesterday. The forums would work fine for me and then with one click of the mouse I'd get the 'error 503' message. Each time, leaving the site for about 5 minutes would allow me back on...... or maybe I just didn't have enough patience to wait

I use FF but found the same issue in IE.
 
  #13  
Old 11-13-12, 06:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 443
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just got the "503 error" on FF, retried immediately, and got on?????
 
  #14  
Old 11-13-12, 06:57 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Guys/Gals it is not you it is THEM. It has been reported and we are awaiting a response from tech. Closing this post because it has run its course. Contact me or another mod if you feel it needs to be reopened.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: