Copy D drive to DVD

Old 12-22-12, 05:04 PM
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
Copy D drive to DVD

Like many brand new Laptops nowday, they don’t come with a Vista Home DVD but rather they include the Vista Home system files along with the factory settings on the D:\ drive.

After about 6 years on my HP Laptop I would like to reformat the HD and do a clean install but before I wonder if I could copy the D:\ drive to a DVD and use this DVD for my new install.

Anyone has done this? Would I be able to re install Vista Home as stated above?

Old 12-22-12, 05:47 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm not an expert on this but I don't think windows will allow itself to be copied. Did you make recovery disks when you got the machine? I think that's how you would do a clean install. Even if you could copy your installed and used copy of windows, it would defeat the purpose of doing a clean install. I would try going through the process of making a recovery disk if you haven't already done so. Also, you should have a seperate recovery partition on your HD. If you don't reformat that partition, you should be able to re-install from that.

Old 12-22-12, 07:57 PM
Perhaps I didnt explain properly, but what I want to copy is the special partition the manufacturer install on the D;\ and its purpose is to use this partition for recovery. Therefore you dont need to make a recovery disk assuming your HD is intact.

Old 12-23-12, 06:30 AM
R
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You could drag 'n' drop the D drive onto a DVD to copy it (or several DVDs as it may turn out), but if it was me I would make a set of recovery discs instead.

Last edited by Rick Johnston; 12-23-12 at 06:37 AM. Reason: clarification
Old 12-23-12, 06:35 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You can copy everything to an external Hard Drive. It would back up everything you told it to, including D drive. You still would have to make a boot/recovery disk as you can not boot from an external HD.

Old 12-23-12, 06:39 AM