"Default" monitor isn't correct

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-13, 07:47 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Default" monitor isn't correct

Based on professional advice, I re-installed Windows (XP) on my PC because of a virus that had infected my machine beyond standard removal efforts.

Now, as I re-install programs, I get an error message from running the HP disk with the printer driver. It says I need to enhance the monitor graphics beyond the minimum settings. When I try to change the settings, the little slide thingy doesn't move off the lowest setting. As I look deeper into "properties" it says to make sure the default monitor is correct. But I can't change anything, or even see what they list as "default"... (It should be the same, as it's the original monitor that came with the system.)

Any thoughts from people who actually know what they're doing?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-13, 08:00 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
You need to download the latest driver. You are probably working with just a generic driver.

Go to the HP site to download....
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-13, 08:04 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,543
Received 93 Votes on 82 Posts
Given that you reinstalled windows, I would think a graphics card driver may need to be updated.

Edit: oops, looks like Mike beat me to it.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-13, 04:02 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Both the graphics card driver and the monitor driver should be installed. While you're at it, if you have a built-ins on the motherboard such as ethernet NIC and sound card those drivers also need to be installed.
 
  #5  
Old 01-24-13, 05:40 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Back in business.

I downloaded a truckload of updates from the Dell website. And (mostly) everything is working fine now.

For anybody else wanting to re-install Windows - Go to the manufacturers website and download any updates to CD First. It will make the process go better later...

Thanks.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: