Can't get Windows Updates

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-13, 06:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't get Windows Updates

Windows 7

I suspected I wasn't getting Updates. Went to "Fix It", and it found (and corrected) two problems. Alledgedly.

So I went back to Updates and hit "Check for Updates". It said "Cannot check for Updates because the service isn't running. You may need to re-start your computer."

I re-started. (Again) And I still get the same message.

Now what?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-13, 09:01 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,808
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
Check services to make sure it's running?
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-13, 09:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did I fail to mention that I'm not very bright? How do you check "services?"
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-13, 02:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Louuuu in Windows 7 type services into your search area and look for services in Control Panel.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-13, 04:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. 'Found it. Under "status" it says 'started'.

So I went to Updates, clicked on "check for updates", and got the same error message noted in the original post...
 
  #6  
Old 04-09-13, 04:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might try this, it is one of many suggetions I found when googled your problem.

Besides Windows Updates you also need "Background Intelligent Transfer Service" to be started.

You can either set it to Automatic or start it manually and then try to download the updates.

If it still doesn't work then try microsoft fixit

How do I reset Windows Update components?
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-13, 06:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.

Background Intelligent Transfer Service was "started" already.

Microsoft Fix It claims to have repaired two items, but even after restarting, I'm not seeing anything different. Same error message.

So I'm back where I started....
 
  #8  
Old 04-09-13, 06:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have ran into that problem several times in windows 7, has always been a different fix.

Did you try the "let me fix it myself" instructions? here:

support.microsoft.com/kb/971058
 
  #9  
Old 04-09-13, 08:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I will.

But the way this day is shaping up, I may not get to it 'til tomorrow. Stay tuned.
 
  #10  
Old 04-09-13, 01:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Louuuuu I did a little bit of research myself it seems that there is another bit of software besides Fix It that works automatically here is the link to that Windows Update error 80072efe or 80072f76 . When you go to that page you will see outlined in blue automatic troubleshooter click on that and a download will pop up, run the program and hopefully everything will start working. If that doesn't work there is a line of code that you can run from the Microsoft answers forum here is the link to that windows 7 automatic updates wont run, error 8024800A - Microsoft Community . Go down to where it says Most helpful Reply and follow the instructions. I never have had problems with updates in Windows 7 Windows XP plenty of problems but so far none with Windows 7. I never have tried this solution on the answers forum but many of the solutions there usually work. I don't guarantee that it will work as I have no experience with it so I would try the download first. Good luck to you!
 
  #11  
Old 04-10-13, 05:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 271
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We have a winner!

It appears that I have a fully updated computer now.

The links to the MS website didn't directly result in a repair. However, one of the forums there mentioned another website that had "The Fix". Something about deleting the contents of all the update-related folders (because one of them was corrupt) then re-activating Updates.

Thanks.
 
  #12  
Old 04-10-13, 05:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great!!! Glad that you now have it!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: