Can't set monitor resolution to 1600 x 900

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-14, 03:22 PM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
Can't set monitor resolution to 1600 x 900

Replaced monitor with Hanspree He245 - 16:9 aspect ratio
Then vid card died. Replaced it with GeForce FX5200
If I set the resolution to 1600x900 I get a "pop up" saying "Input signal out of range". However, the desktop looks fine. The pop up just won't go away. If I set the res to 1280x1024 the pop up goes away, but the display looks stretched.
No driver came with the monitor. Is this a vid card issue or a monitor issue? Why would a 16:9 aspect ratio monitor not be able to display 1600x900 res?

Win xp2
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-14, 06:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
It is a video card issue I have had the same problem before myself. You need to go to the video card manufacturers website and download the latest driver. Better do it soon though as Windows XP sunsets soon and manufacturers will probably start selling their products without Windows XP drivers. They might even withdraw their drivers for older products. If they do I know of a website that has drivers for older products but it isn't always reliable.
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-14, 05:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Drivers aren't required for that monitor. It should be plug n play, but in XP it may show up as a generic or default monitor.

What's the refresh rate set to? 60hz is pretty much universal. I can't find the manual online, but others in that product line have an accepted range from 55Hz to 75Hz. Also, see if the card can be set to 1920 x 1080.
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-14, 06:25 AM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
It does show as a plug and play monitor. Refresh rate only has a choice of 60Hz. Weird thing is I can set it to 1600x900, and what I can see looks good, but the popu is blocking the center of the screen.

I'll see if I can find a new vid card driver.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-14, 05:06 PM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
OK. Downloaded and installed a new driver from nvidia site. Gives me more choices (higher res than 1600x900), but the highest I can set it to is 1280x1024 without the pop up. This seems like a monitor issue rather than the vid card. I can set to higher res, but the monitor can't handle it. No?
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-14, 05:35 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
1920 x 1080 is the "native" resolution...is that an option?
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-14, 06:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Some video cards just can't handle certain monitors nor can certain drivers. Did you consult someone at the manufacturer of the card? Sometimes it is hard to know exactly which driver to use unless you e-mail support. It happened that way with me once I couldn't be sure so I e-mailed support and gave them all of the numbers on the card and then they sent me a link.
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-14, 06:08 AM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
Something I should have mentioned. This was hooked up with a DVI cable. I swapped it to D-SUB (is that just another name for VGA?) and I can set it to 1600X900.

Weird. I would have thought DVI was more "robust". But it works fine now, so I'm good. Thanks for the help, all.
 
  #9  
Old 01-08-14, 06:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
You are right D-Sub and VGA are actually the same thing they sometimes just like to call it D-Sub or computer monitor cable. The same is probably true for tv sets that can be used as monitors. I use a HDMI cable on a tv in my living room that is connected to a desktop and I can only get the resolution up but so high. It works for me though and I am satisfied with it. The cable could have been your whole problem but it doesn't hurt to have updated drivers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes