compatibility view problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-14-14, 10:51 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
compatibility view problem

Every time i try to log into my e-mail account in the last couple days,i get a message that 'compatibility' is checked in 'tools' bar.

Now, i can't just log into my e-mail unless i manually 'unchecked' compatibility view
and log in again

Anybody have a fix for this? (using IE windows XP)

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-14-14, 05:44 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What tool bars are installed? Tool bars are vulnerable & I for one don't use them. My suggestion would be to uninstall them.
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-14, 07:12 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your reply. Menu,command, and tool bars are the only ones checked.

It's just my mail account. No problems with other sites i visit/open. I have switched back and forth between Yahoo,and Google with the same problem.
 
  #4  
Old 02-15-14, 07:48 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wasn't asking you what's checked. I was asking what tool bars are installed? You can uninstall them in the control panel, add & remove programs.
 
  #5  
Old 02-15-14, 08:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You could try a different browser then IE. I haven't used IE for more then 15 years and never missed it. Of course one advantage with IE is it recognizes sloppy coding that doesn't conform to standards for Webpages. (Had to for years because MS"s HTML editor Frontpage produced really bad code..) While I have used all the big time ones I keep going back to my original replacement, Seamonkey (nee Mozilla Suite).
 
  #6  
Old 02-15-14, 10:07 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Everything else on the computer operates as it did a week ago
except for mail.

I can receive,send,but have lost the automatic address insert when i click
on sending mail. Also missing is the 'paper clip' used to insert photos from my
picture account.

Is there some good reason why i shouldn't go back and pick a new install
date? Just fishing now. I think windows XP 8 is installed now
 
  #7  
Old 02-15-14, 02:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see one problem you are having and that is using IE8 and I am afraid that is as far as you can go with IE on Windows XP. Many websites now are coding for the more advanced IE like IE 9,10 and now 11. I have 11 on my Windows 7 computers of which I now have three including my used laptop I bought and refurbished. I always revert back to Firefox though as I believe Firefox is more stable and is still written for Windows XP for now. After April you will have a hard time finding any compatible browsers as that is when Windows XP sunsets and is no longer supported.
 
  #8  
Old 02-16-14, 08:38 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That seems to be the consensus with mail problems.

Thanks for your input
 
  #9  
Old 02-16-14, 09:08 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Firefox though as I believe... is still written for Windows XP for now.
I would have thought it would still be compatible with Win 98 and Win 2k. Do you have a link saying it isn't? Unlike IE Firefox is not written for a single OS. It is written for three very different OSes so code has to be compatible over a wide range of environments.
 
  #10  
Old 02-16-14, 03:19 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for not answering sooner. I had a friend come over to look at my computer issues who switched me over to Google Chrome.

One issue have is that i lost spell check
 
  #11  
Old 02-16-14, 06:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No Ray actually I don't have a link but know that you can run Firefox on older versions of Windows but usually those versions of Firefox are old too and not upgradeable to newer versions. I did however do a quick search and found one article that says at least for now and the foreseeable future Mozilla will be offering updates for Firefox on Windows XP. I doubt seriously though that support will go on forever as at some point Mozilla will feel as they do now the same way they think about Windows 98 and not offer a newer browser for Windows XP.

A good reason for those users if they want to keep their old computer to switch to Linux and if they still want Windows to upgrade to a newer computer that has better hardware. They also might want to just completely switch to Linux if they like it enough and use it on the newer computer too.
 
  #12  
Old 02-16-14, 06:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Try typing some misspelled words in a text field. You should see a red underline. Right click on the word for suggested corrections. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95604?hl=en
 
  #13  
Old 02-17-14, 09:05 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried right clicking on misspelled word ,and red squiggly high light appeared
but no correct word choice offered.
 
  #14  
Old 02-17-14, 09:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
That was a right click wasn't it? With Chrome the cursor has to be just right. Not above or below the word but about in the middle top to bottom wise.
 
  #15  
Old 02-17-14, 11:23 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the hassel on this.

I right clicked on "hassel",and the red squiggles came on,right clicking to the immediate left of the 'hassel' ...L...did nothing.
 
  #16  
Old 02-19-14, 11:51 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A computer savvy friend solved the problem.

Thanks everyone for your help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: