Firefox keeps crashing...!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-18-14, 06:56 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Firefox keeps crashing...!!!!!!!!!!!

Geez I thought it was just my computer but all the computers are doing it...

Anyone else having issues?

It crashes several times a day. I restore setting on this computer. It made a folder on my desktop which I dont know what to do with. I assume it has all my old settings in there...

Ill poke around the internet to see if I find any live data regarding this...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-18-14, 07:33 PM
bigfred's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 418
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried Internet Explorer and Firefox. Now I use Chrome. I haven't had any problem with it crashing.
 
  #3  
Old 02-18-14, 08:00 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
It only started yesterday...
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-14, 08:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Mine just did an update yesterday. I'm now running version 27.0.1 with no problems.

The strange thing is..... it did the update by itself. It usually tells me that an update is available. Then it took a minute for the program to check my add-ons for compatibility.... which is how I knew that it updated itself.
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-14, 08:44 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I'm now running version 27.0.1 with no problems.
27??? I have been on 28 for some time now...( I think I have a beta)

Im reading this now...

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...t-and-get-help
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-14, 08:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Remind me not to get that version
 
  #7  
Old 02-18-14, 09:01 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Really I dont know how I have 28...

I have windows 8 though... maybe thats why?
 
  #8  
Old 02-18-14, 09:09 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Geez I dont see a 28 anywhere on the FF site... No beta...

I see the current version as 27.0.1 as you state from the FF site..

I know I have had 28 for a while now. here is a pic...



Name:  ff.jpg
Views: 751
Size:  27.1 KB
 
  #9  
Old 02-18-14, 09:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
That's pretty strange. I'm running W-Vista business on this machine.
 
  #10  
Old 02-19-14, 04:22 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,054
Received 118 Votes on 105 Posts
I'm not having any issues with FF but mine is 27.0.1 and it's set to automatic updates. Win7
Have you run your anti virus and maleware to rule out something sinister? Doesn't FF have a help site?
 
  #11  
Old 02-19-14, 04:31 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
From that pic it says I am on the beta update channel... How the heck did I get there??? LOL..

Have you run your anti virus and maleware
Yes and nothing major found. Just the typical tracker cookies and such.

I guess I can re load the current version.. Just wondering how I got this version and why I am crashing out of the blue..

I reset FF to defaults and all seams well so far...
 
  #12  
Old 02-19-14, 04:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,054
Received 118 Votes on 105 Posts
it says I am on the beta update channel... How the heck did I get there??
maybe they selected you as their test dummy
 
  #13  
Old 02-19-14, 05:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you're running a beta of the next version then I would expect problems like crashing. I would export your favorites and downgrade to 27, the latest release version. As PJ said, it upgraded yesterday.

I've been using all of the available browsers on various devices to check a web site I'm designing. To me, Chrome is the most solid with the fewest issues.
 
  #14  
Old 02-19-14, 08:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just another running FF 27.0.1 without any problems.
"Beta" would scare the heck out of me (I'm NOT a computer savvy person!!)
 
  #15  
Old 02-19-14, 11:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My theory about how you received the beta is maybe you received a message something like this "Help Mozilla test the latest beta of Firefox" and clicked on it or a family member did. I think I have a beta of Firefox on one of my old laptops running XP as that is about all that is available for XP but not so with Windows 7 or Windows 8. Betas usually work fine and they test them well before launching them so I am surprised you had so many problems. I am glad though everything is working fine now.
 
  #16  
Old 02-19-14, 01:09 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 429
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
lawrosa, I think what happened is your PC is so fast, it ran slap into that time-space continuum thing and updated your FF in the future. Then FF got carsick on the ride back in time, which is why it keeps puking.
 
  #17  
Old 02-19-14, 05:22 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Well a few more crashes but I think I figured it out...

When I open PDF's I veiw them in firefox. By default. If I need to open them in adobe I do that after the fact...

Well it seems something changed on FF end and now when I open pdf's and view in FF I will get a crash... Usually a few minutes after opening and reading them..

I just changed the defaults to open with adobe in the FF only in the options menu...

I will let you know....
 
  #18  
Old 02-19-14, 05:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adobe really shouldn't be doing that Mike maybe you should uninstall Adobe Reader and reinstall it. You could also try Fox It Reader it does the same thing as Adobe Reader I have it on my Dell Inspiron and have used it for several months now without any problems. Here is the link to Fox It Reader PDF Converter PDF Editor Edit and Convert html, Word files to PDF . They say something about a trial version but I think just like with Adobe it has limited functionality and just only allows you to read PDF files. At least so far I haven't had any problems with it. It works inside or outside your browser like Adobe.
 
  #19  
Old 02-19-14, 06:02 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Adobe really shouldn't be doing that Mike maybe you should uninstall Adobe Reader and reinstall it.
It was crashing when viewing PDF's in FF. With the FF browser. I was not opening them with adobe if you know what I mean...
 
  #20  
Old 02-19-14, 06:03 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
This should help understand better... And this viewer apparently is making FF crash...

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...within+Firefox
 
  #21  
Old 02-19-14, 06:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually Mike you were Adobe just kind of sits transparently inside of the browser as a plugin and only works when needed. Same way with some other programs too like video programs that can be used either in or out of the browser. I read your link and one thing it said was using Java in the built in Firefox reader so maybe you should check to see if you have the latest version of Java. If Java isn't working right or is old it can make your system buggy.

I suggest you update Java and then check for old versions using Javas download they have on their page. I wasn't aware by the way that Firefox had a built in reader now so maybe you should uninstall Adobe. Libre Office I think can also open PDF files and even convert files into PDF files so if you want more than a reader you might want to try that. Best of all too Libre Office is free.
 
  #22  
Old 02-19-14, 06:47 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I wasn't aware by the way that Firefox had a built in reader
All the browsers do from what I know....

Im still fiddling around.. Ill post back results after a few days...

I believe its my beta version also... Also since I sent all these crash reports back to FF , I recieved an update a little while ago.. But it stayed at version 28... It updated and made me restart..

Maybe they read my crash report and sent me the update to fix it... ( Wish I could check that somehow)
 
  #23  
Old 02-19-14, 09:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All the browsers do from what I know....
Maybe but it is the first time I have ever heard of it. Most of the time in the past anyway if you wanted to read a PDF file on a web page you had to have Adobe Reader as that was the only kid on the block. Might be Microsoft has done the same thing in their latest browser 11 but they are usually last to make most changes. I will keep an eye out for any other posts in the mean time you might want to check Mozillas forum for information about Firefox beta.
 
  #24  
Old 02-19-14, 10:21 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 429
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
IMHO, FoxIt pdf reader and FireFox play together much nicer than FF and Adobe Acrobat. Much less bloated than Actobat. And FoxIt has a browser plug-in. I still keep Acrobat Pro around for editing PDFs but FoxIt has been my default PDF reader since when we last had a native born American in the White House.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: