splitting DSL Ethernet cable...

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-25-14, 06:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
splitting DSL Ethernet cable...

Wouldn't this work.....

DSL Router-->RJ45 splitter(w/male cable adapter, which is plugged into router)-->two short ethernet cables connected to another RJ45 splitter(w/all female connections)-->single ethernet cable connected to another RJ45 splitter(w/all female connections)-->run one cable to DVD, run other cable to Modem.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-25-14, 07:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You cannot "split" ethernet cables.

DSL Modem > router > one cable from router to each device.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-14, 08:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,892
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
As PJmax said, you'll either need to run dedicated cables to the router (one for each device) or your other option is to add an ethernet switch to your network, which will allow you to share your connection at an alternate location (i.e. away from your modem) amongst other devices. Unfortunately not as simple as splitting a telephone line.
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-14, 07:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.

Thanks for the reply's. I was contemplating changing my bluray from wireless to wired (to get better netflix streaming) but I still wanted to be able to browse the net on my macbook.

It sounds more complicated and expensive then I'm ready for. My DSL router only has one Ethernet output, which goes to my apple air express router.

Thanks for the info.
 
  #5  
Old 02-26-14, 08:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Doesn't the apple air router have multiple ethernet connections ?
 
  #6  
Old 02-26-14, 02:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,892
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It sounds more complicated and expensive then I'm ready for.
Not really. This is the switch I have connecting my internet connection to my Wii and smart Blu Ray. Only $25.

Amazon.com : Linksys SE1500 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch : Network Switches : Electronics
 
  #7  
Old 02-26-14, 04:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually you can split an ethernet cable. You would still need 2 ports on your router though, one for each device. Then you use a pair of these:

RJ45 T Mod Splitter Computer Adaptor 10 to 100 Base Cat5e 1 Male to 2 Female | eBay

We used to do this years ago when hardware was pricey. Nowadays, buy yourself a small switch.
 
  #8  
Old 02-28-14, 07:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch

my air express is the a few years old.. it was the one that only came with one port and one USB (which my printer is plugged into).

So, this looks like it might do the job... It looks, more or less, like a wireless ethernet router. I wonder if its compatible with my air express.
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Not really. This is the switch I have connecting my internet connection to my Wii and smart Blu Ray. Only $25.

Amazon.com : Linksys SE1500 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch : Network Switches : Electronics

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/co...#ixzz2udD4rvPU
 
  #9  
Old 02-28-14, 07:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Linksys SE1500 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch

It does not specifically say, but it looks like it will pick up my router with wireless. I especially think this because there is no place for an input.

Or, am I misreading this and I actually do plug my DSL modem into the switch and then also plug my router into the switch???
 
  #10  
Old 02-28-14, 08:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,485
Received 28 Votes on 22 Posts
Modem...>router...>switch...>terminal devices.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: