Homegroup

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-28-14, 04:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Homegroup

Comcast replaced modem and router have 3 wireless computer and printer on network. Computers 1, 2, and 3 can access printer.
#1 can see #2 not #3. #3 can see #2 not #1. #2 can't see either?
The modem/router shows all 4 devices. Tried setting up new homegroup and sharing no change use onedrive to share files. Just curious everything ok before change.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-28-14, 05:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,548
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Os

What OS are you using? Is it the same OS on all 3 computers?
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-14, 06:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,891
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Maybe something to do with the anti-virus software on your individual computers. The MAC address of the router is now different so the anti-virus software could be blocking other computers from accessing your files because it doesn't recognize the MAC address. Or maybe MAC address filtering is enabled in your router and it isn't allowing certain connections.
 
  #4  
Old 02-28-14, 07:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Win7 on 1 & 2 Win8.1 on three. Netgear Genie shows all devices also. Retired old man will have to read up on router and virus protection to check .
Thanks for answers
 
  #5  
Old 02-28-14, 08:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,548
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Network

Each of the computers need to be set to recognize the new router and modem.
 
  #6  
Old 02-28-14, 11:33 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 429
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Try these:

Sharing files and printers with different versions of Windows
Sharing files and printers with different versions of Windows - Microsoft Windows Help

Networking home computers running different versions of Windows
Networking home computers running different versions of Windows - Microsoft Windows Help
 
  #7  
Old 03-01-14, 07:49 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On each computer, right click on the network icon in the tray, and Open Network and Sharing Center. Make sure there is a picture of a house under the "View your active network" section. If it is a picture of an office building (Work Network) or a park bench (Public Network), then that will cause your problem. Click on Work Network or Public Network and change it to Home Network.

When the router was changed, it's not the MAC address that causes issues. What happens is the computer detects that it is connected to a different network than it used to be, and asks you what kind it is. If you don't click Home Network, it cuts off all sharing.
 
  #8  
Old 03-02-14, 10:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The win8 compute shows private network don't see how to change it. Setup new home group and sharing no change

Thanks for answers
 
  #9  
Old 03-10-14, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

Success reset router disconnected all computers from homegroup. Made new homegroup on Win 8 computer joined all computers reset router success.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: