My Passport hard drive

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-14-14, 03:52 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
My Passport hard drive

I just bought a 500 Gb My Passport from Western Digital. The instructions are clear how to install it once your computer recognizes it. However after I plug it in to the USB port, the computer never recognizes it. Am I doing something wrong? I plan on using this to download my computer in the event I have to go to W7 from XP

Edit: I can go to device manager, uninstall the unit, scan for hardware changes and it shows it being installed in the tray, and that it is ready to use. I cannot find it on my computer, or anywhere else. Welcome ideas.
 

Last edited by chandler; 04-14-14 at 04:34 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-14-14, 04:42 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,146
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
I have mybook live from WD. I have mine hooked to my router acting as a sever so to speak..

But with that said you must download the software. Did it come with a disk? Its the quick viwer and also has smartware for backing up computers.

Mine is 2 TB..

Once that is done you can view from the icon it places in the system tray..(right click it) Gives a dashboard.

Or you can access from the network folder. Through USB you should see it in my computer..

What model passport?
 
  #3  
Old 04-14-14, 04:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,039
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Right.... you should see it listed as a drive when you go to "computer"
(same as a thumb or flash drive)
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-14, 05:21 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Mike, it is a Studio model. It is not showing up on My Computer at all, even though it shows finding it in the tray. After a few minutes, however, I get the message that there was a problem with the installation and that the device may not work properly. I have downloaded the drivers, although they say they aren't necessary. Pete, I thought it should show up, but it doesn't. Still welcoming all advice. Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 04-14-14, 05:41 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,146
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
You have XP??????.......................
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-14, 05:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Yeah. That's why I bought it, in case I had to download the existing hard drive to do a clean install of W7
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-14, 05:45 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,146
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
And what computer?

You need to delete the drivers you have and download the latest from WD. There were fixes for the usb not being recognized.

Save them to your desktop then plug in the wd...It should find the drivers... Or I believe when you open the driver folder to run it it will guide you step by step.
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-14, 05:57 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,146
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Read this...........


http://support.wdc.com/download/note...otes.pdf?r=985

Here is the link to your product for reference...(your product right?)

WD Support / Downloads / My Passport / My Passport Studio
 
  #9  
Old 04-14-14, 06:00 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Dell D820 2.2 Ghz, 4 GB Ram. I have downloaded and unzipped the drivers from WD, uninstalled the drivers via Device Manager. I have the new drivers saved to My Downloads. Would they be found there as easily as the desktop? If not, I'll move them. I'll go to the WD page and see if there are any fixes as well. Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 04-14-14, 06:18 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Larry what I would save are all of your pictures and documents you have made and not the programs themselves as some of the programs may not be compatible with Windows 7. I have a Western Digital MyBook I bought at police auction online and thought the installation would be as simple as just plugging it in. Some drives though I know do require drivers especially with Windows XP. I hope the drivers solve your problem.
 
  #11  
Old 04-14-14, 07:26 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 612
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
The drive might not have a partition table (You need to create one for the drive to show up in "My Computer" and you would need to right click "My Computer" and then click manage -> Storage -> Disk Management and then find the WD External hard disk (Be very careful not to format or initialize another disk) You then want to click initialize or create a simple volume (It has been a while since I used XP so I hope I don't confuse you) and then choose NTFS quick format (Unless you want to wait hours upon hours for a full format) and default allocation size and let windows assign a drive letter

Here is a pictorial guide that probably explains alot better then all of the text I typed (Note your disk might not be labeled Disk 1 it depends on the connection and other disks in the system so be absolutely sure to choose the right disk)
 
  #12  
Old 04-15-14, 04:12 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Much of what I have read indicates if it doesn't work on one computer, try it on another. I will try it on the desktop in my office today and see what happens. If I can get it formatted, maybe it will work on the laptop.

CB, when I try the My Computer right clicky thingy, it does not show up there either.

Richard, about the only thing I have on the computer is pix and documents, along with Quickbooks. I can install the programs from their original disks.

I'll post results. Thanks.

Edit. CB, I opened your tutorial. Exactly for simple minds like mine. It is working.
 

Last edited by chandler; 04-15-14 at 04:28 AM.
  #13  
Old 04-15-14, 04:45 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 612
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
Glad you got it working I am always glad to help
 
  #14  
Old 04-15-14, 05:25 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
USB storage devices, whether it be a memory card reader, a flash drive, an external hard drive, or a hard drive bridge, rarely - if ever - require 3rd party drivers to function on virtually any version of Windows. They use standardized 'Mass Storage Class" drivers that are built into Windows.

This issue is a result of the drive simply not being properly initialized at the factory. It happens...

And FYI, certain networked devices like the MyBook NAS DO require extra software to be found and recognized over the network, BUT they do not need drivers to be seen when plugged into the local computer via USB.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: