Bogus e-mails help

Old 09-26-14, 10:28 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bogus e-mails help

I got a e-mail from a family member stating my new H.P.computer is sending bogus e-mails.

I'm new to Windows 8.1 . Any advice on removing this e-mail?

I'm using windows XP on a HP pavilion.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 09-26-14, 10:32 AM
Super Moderator
You need to do a scan of your machine using several of the malware tools out there. Malwarebytes is one, Spybot Search and Destroy is another.

Change your email client password after running the scans.

What is your email client/program?

Old 09-26-14, 10:38 AM
Group Moderator
Received 40 Votes on 37 Posts
I'm confused - you say XP and 8.1. Which is it?

Also, I've had my email account hacked and emails sent from there as well as others I know have had this same problem. What is it that makes you think your problem is the computer?

Old 09-26-14, 11:06 AM
You need to contact your Internet Service Provider. (Actually they should already be aware of this).
If the e-mails are coming from your e-mail address, someone is sending out spam via your address. Normally, rather than you discovering this, you would get a message from your ISP stating your account has been disabled due to a security threat.
And as mentioned, XP and 8.1 are way apart. You may want to describe "bogus e-mail" and let others here that are versed in this advise you.

Old 09-26-14, 11:44 AM
Thanks everyone for your input.

When I got this computer it was the 8.1 version installed. I was not comfortable with this version, and because of my limited computer knowledge, I went back to windows XP that I was more familiar
with.

I'm using McAfee antivirus software.

ISP ???

Old 09-26-14, 12:02 PM
Super Moderator
ISP...Internet Service Provider. Answer the questions tho...are you using a Web based E-mail...or stand alone program?

McAffee is not popular with power users.

Old 09-26-14, 12:23 PM
Group Moderator
OK, so you downgraded an 8.1 PC to XP?