Ozwuxe.exe ???

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-14, 09:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,276
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ozwuxe.exe ???

Ok, I know I'm on borrowed time, still using Windows XP with expired anti-virus...got a new computer coming (Windows 8...whoop-te-do).

Online activity slowed way down a few days ago due to OZWUXE.EXE. Several instances show up on task manager that combined, consume 90% of the resources. I can kill them, but they come back within 30 seconds. A Google search shows a 1 or 2 sentence statement in Russian, and the translation only says "not found 404"

It will be a moot issue in a few weeks, but have any of you XP users come across this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-14, 09:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,276
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
More info: when OZWUXE.EXE loads, it's not active until I change internet pages, then it goes to 80 or 90%, the modem activity light constantly flashes, (I guess indicating upload/download activity), and that brings my intended internet activity practically to a halt.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-14, 01:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From what you told me so far this sounds like a virus. I did a general search too and didn't find any mention of Ozwuxe.exe as a virus and not even a mention of it except for the forum. You could use SuperAntiSpyware it still works with Windows XP and you can find it here SUPERAntiSpyware | Remove Malware | Remove Spyware - AntiMalware, AntiSpyware, AntiAdware!. I use the free version it works great for me.

I think too if that was my computer I might erase the drive and then put Linux on it. It would certainly give the old computer some extra life for however long the components in it keep working. I like PCLinuxOs myself which can be found here So cool ice cubes are jealous ยป PCLinuxOS
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-14, 03:11 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Click start, run, type msconfig, press enter, go to the startup tab. If you see it in the list, uncheck it. Uncheck anything else that looks suspicious. Click apply & ok. Don't reboot when it asks.

Click start, run ,type regedit, press enter, click edit, find, type the name of the file in the find box. If it finds it, delete the entry on the right side. Then press F3. If it finds another entry, delete that too. Continue with F3 until it says finished searching. Reboot, click ok when it tells you that you have changed to selective startup. Do not go back to normal startup ever.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-14, 05:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,276
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I am now up & running on the new machine (windows 7 pro)....

The old machine is still bootable (takes 3-4 min for xp to load). I won't toss it out yet...if I get the time (yeah, right) I might pursue it.

Pulpo, I tried your suggestion first; removed everything I recognized with the .exe names, but getting out put me in an endless loop of re-boot to effect changes, over & over again. And some of the nasties were still there.

Hedge, I ran Super Anti-spyware & it found over 80 cookies & 16 Trojans; ran full scan 3X but one nasty kept reloading.

This was taking all of my weekend, and being a pig-headed male who equates fixing stuff with machismo, I finally relented to keep the peace. (Wife).

A final question:On the new machine, am I ok with Windows Essentials (free) for a while until I decide on a pay anti-virus?
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-14, 06:09 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Pulpo, I tried your suggestion first; removed everything I recognized with the .exe names, but getting out put me in an endless loop of re-boot to effect changes, over & over again. And some of the nasties were still there."
_______________________________________

I know what you mean about that loop. Somewhere you have to check Don't show this msg again. Also, if the "nasties" come back checked again, they have to be removed from the registry. If they aren't checked, they are not loading into memory at boot time.
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-14, 06:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would keep Microsoft Security Essentials if I was you as it certainly is much better than most anti-virus as it works more in the background and is not a system hog like most paid versions of anti-virus are. I only use Microsoft Security Essentials on my Windows 7 computers and haven't had any problems. I still use SuperAntiSpyware though as things can creep on by with a paid or free version of anti-virus. So I try to scan with both at least once a week when I have time and at least with one or the other. It will not hurt by the way to have both as they both are a bit different.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-14, 07:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,276
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thank you, gentlemen.
I will heed your advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: