Is a 'wireless' wireless AP possible

Old 12-28-14, 09:23 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is a 'wireless' wireless AP possible

Hi, I have my DSL router in the master bedroom and cannot move it to any other room in the house. I want to set up an access point in my living room. However, I don't want to connect the two via ethernet. Is it possible to have an access point where the router and AP can communicate sans ethernet cable? If so, is there a special piece of hardware I need to purchase?

I currently have a Motorola 3347 in use through Century Link. I have a Netgear WNR2000v3 laying around that I was hoping to use as the AP, but I don't think it's possible without connecting via ethernet.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-28-14, 09:29 AM
G
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Unless I'm missing something, why don't you hook up wi fi to your router and have wireless access throughout your house.

Old 12-28-14, 09:43 AM
G
I'm already doing that, but I basically want to connect my XBox 360 to my network, but cannot because the XBox is downstairs and the router is upstairs. I don't have a wireless adapter for the xbox. I have a spare router so I was trying to find a solution using existing hardware.

Old 12-28-14, 10:03 AM
Super Moderator
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
I set my netgear WNR2000v3 that I have down stairs to a wnr ext up stairs and plug my x box into that.

Old 12-28-14, 10:12 AM
G
Lawrosa, can you please be more specific? What is a wnr ext?

Old 12-28-14, 10:27 AM
Super Moderator
The wnr2000 can be used as a repeater. Its in the software. I can screen shot that as I did not find doc online. You need to put the mac address of the motorola I believe.

But instead of me buying another wnr2000 i bought the ext..

WN2000RPT | WiFi Range Extenders | Networking | Home | NETGEAR

Old 12-28-14, 10:54 AM
Super Moderator
If you go into the wnr 2000 software you will see the repeater option..

Enable it and put the mac address of the motorola as the base station..