Win10 to be no charge update to Win7/Win8

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-15, 08:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 415
Upvotes Received: 7
Win10 to be no charge update to Win7/Win8

21 January 2015 Last updated at 15:23 ET
Windows 10 to get 'holographic' headset and Cortana
By Leo Kelion Technology desk editor

Microsoft has revealed that Windows 10 will bring its voice-controlled assistant Cortana to PCs.

It also unveiled a headset that it said would one day project the operating system over views of the real world.

In addition, the firm announced that the OS upgrade would be offered free of charge for devices running Windows 8, Windows 7 and Windows Phone.

The offer, which is limited to the Windows 10's first year of release, may aid its adoption....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-15, 09:21 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Win10 to be no charge update to Win7/Win8
You mean update to Win 10

I guess we have 2 threads on the subject now. There has to be a catch. MS doesn't give anything away for free, except maybe the new & improved NSA spyware.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-15, 10:17 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,243
Upvotes Received: 28
Don't look a gift horse in the mouth! I think the "catch" is, they want you to buy their products, like a Windows Tablet, a Windows Phone, etc., etc.

p.s. I already posted about this yesterday: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ge...grade-fyi.html
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-15, 01:24 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Didn't that King get killed by accepting a gift horse? I don't trust them. We haven't seen the fine print yet. BTW, I saw your post. That's why I said that we have 2 threads, on it.
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-15, 04:36 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,243
Upvotes Received: 28
BTW, I saw your post.
I know. I was talking to Fred.
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-15, 05:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Microsoft wants to standardize the platform so developers will come home to roost. In the past, developers have had to write code for a boatload of different MS operating systems (Home, Pro and Business versions of XP and 7; Server; 8 and 8.1; phone, desktop, and tablet). The costs outweighed the rewards, so they moved on to other platforms. By consolidating all systems to Win10 MS is hoping to lure developers back.

Win10 is also the first MS OS with automatic updates that will not be able to be turned off, thus guaranteeing standardization. (And this also opens the door for pay-to-play, but no one is saying that right now ...)
 

Last edited by Rick Johnston; 01-27-15 at 05:52 AM. Reason: Clarification.
  #7  
Old 01-25-15, 06:07 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
When were users "required" to use updates? For years, I had windows updates disabled. What do patches have to do with standardization? No matter what, some users will apply patches & others won't.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-15, 05:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes Received: 13
Name:  2lo3ptj.jpg
Views: 617
Size:  25.0 KB
.
 
  #9  
Old 01-27-15, 03:52 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,729
Upvotes Received: 73
Ray, it's always nice to start the day with a chuckle
 
  #10  
Old 01-27-15, 05:42 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,243
Upvotes Received: 28
Lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #11  
Old 01-27-15, 05:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Pulpo, I edited my post for clarification: "automatic updates that will not be able to be turned off." I'm thinking the only way to avoid updates is to never connect to the internet. Good luck with that in this day & age.
 
  #12  
Old 01-27-15, 06:11 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Rick, that makes more sense. However, you could block them in your hosts file or in the router. In the hosts file, add an entry
127.0.0.2 windowsupdate.microsoft.com
Leave 127.0.0.1 for localhost aka loopback.
The hosts file is in C:widdows\system32\drivers\etc
Edit it with notepad.

The site can be filtered in the router as well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes