I'm new to laptops...

Old 02-09-15, 11:43 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm new to laptops...

After many many years of owning PC's and all-in-ones, I just bought a laptop.

I need "battery life tips".

I won't be using it every day.
I've been buying batteries too often for my child in college's laptop, thereby wondering if we're missing something.

What's the Do's and Don'ts regarding optimum battery life? Leave it plugged in most of the time? Run the battery down pretty low before re-charging? etc...

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-15, 11:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 153 Votes on 136 Posts
I bought my first/only laptop a year ago and the battery does fine. I don't use the laptop everyday but it does get used every week. I charge the battery when it gets low and let it fully charge. I haven't noticed any issues with the battery at all. BUT I'm no where near an expert in this field .... they should be along later.

Old 02-09-15, 11:56 AM
Group Moderator
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
I don't get too hung up on it as I don't intend to alter my PC usage much for sake of the battery.

That said, my laptop is attached to a docking station 95% of the time, so the battery rarely sees any discharge.

Old 02-09-15, 12:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
My laptop stays plugged in all the time, but I can un tether it and walk around if I want......not for very long, 'cause it is an old battery. I won't be buying a new battery for battery's sake, however. I use my Ipad if I am traveling or away from the house for a period of time. Much longer battery life, but no software to speak of, only applications.

Old 02-09-15, 12:10 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts