Reinstalling Win7, Is req. for installation cd same as recovery cd?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-15, 11:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
Reinstalling Win7, Is req. for installation cd same as recovery cd?

compaq presario CQ60. I am wanting to restore windows 7 to factory settings. Doesn't look like there is a partion drive for restoring. I don't have an installation cd. I have a recovery cd I made. Is that the same? when I try to do a restore to factory it says I will need installation disc. This is where my question comes in. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-14-15, 01:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Kmeyer it sounds to me that you didn't copy all of the necessary files or that the software used that the manufacturer supplied was not good and didn't pick up on all of the files you would need. I think though that I may be able to help you. First lets try a free solution from Microsoft I am giving you a link so that you can hopefully be able to download a copy of Windows 7 Microsoft Software Recovery. Try that first and follow the instructions on the screen it might work with an oem COA and it might not but it is worth a try.

The second solution I found on the HP forum and it is from a company that sells HP recovery media. They are not associated with HP but apparently HP knows about them. I found the page for your model but there are sub model numbers too so look on the back of your laptop to find the full model number. Here is a link to their page HP/Hewlett Packard and Compaq Recovery CDs brought to you by Computer Surgeons - Archives for end of life computers and System Recovery. The cost from them is $27.00 and includes all drivers and Windows from what I understand and probably any bloatware you don't need too.

If the Microsoft route works then you can just pick and choose what drivers you need and what you don't need from HP so for that reason alone I would try there first. Good luck and please let me know how it works out for you.
 
  #3  
Old 03-14-15, 08:01 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
F11 should access the recovery partition when you reboot or start the PC. Tap F11 a few times as soon as you turn on the PC. Don't wait to see anything on the screen. Just start tapping.
 
  #4  
Old 03-14-15, 01:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
under Advance Recovery using the control panel there is an option to use image discs that I have created. Is this also a way to restore to factory settings?
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-15, 01:56 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Why don't you want to use the recovery partition that's already there? I have no idea how you created the discs nor how successful it was.
 
  #6  
Old 03-14-15, 01:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
under Advance Recovery using the control panel there is an option to use image discs that I have created. Is this also a way to restore to factory settings?
As long as you made all of the disks you will be able to fully recover your system. It may however install things you might not want such as trial software but you can always remove that.
 
  #7  
Old 03-14-15, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
to answer Pulpo, I don't see a partition for it. It would be listed as another drive and there isn't one. It only shows a C: drive no other. Well, that isn't true, it does show the D: which is the dvd drive
But no partition. The only options I see for a factory reset are with installation disc and image discs. If you have more info on where I would find the partition please tell me. I am open to any info. Thanks
 
  #8  
Old 03-14-15, 04:12 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
The partition maybe hidden. Did you try F11?

Rant: I'm so tired of the 180 second wait to go to the next post.
 
  #9  
Old 03-14-15, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
How about resetting using image discs?
 
  #10  
Old 03-14-15, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
tried F11 a bunch of times so far but havent been able to get it to open recovery utility or whatever you call it yet. I have tried repeatedly shutting it down and F11 as it boots up. I will keep trying. What if I can't ever get it to take the F11 command? That is the right key though because on boot up that is what it asks for, F11.
 
  #11  
Old 03-14-15, 04:28 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Ok, try them
______________________
 
  #12  
Old 03-14-15, 04:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
am I understanding that using the image discs will give me a new install of windows 7? that this will put it back to factory?
 
  #13  
Old 03-14-15, 09:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
The discs will definitely give you a new install of Windows 7 as long as you made all of the discs. Of course it will include any of the bloatware originally installed too. If the applications worked great for you and you were happy with it great and it will be factory fresh again. As I said in my original post though sometimes the discs don't work it just depends. Best though if possible to use those discs that you made than to buy them if you can. Some manufacturers disc creation software doesn't work like it should and in that case the manufacturer should give you new discs in my opinion.
 
  #14  
Old 03-15-15, 07:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
Thanks for the answer. One last question, you say that sometimes these discs don't work, what happens if they don't?
 
  #15  
Old 03-15-15, 08:01 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
It depends why they don't work & how far the install goes. It's not always a total failure. When do you plan to try it?
 
  #16  
Old 03-15-15, 10:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
when I get home from work this evening or maybe in the morning.
 
  #17  
Old 03-15-15, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
does this image that I made contain any extra programs and files that were on the hdd when I made the image copy?
 
  #18  
Old 03-15-15, 12:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Usually these disks only contain program files at least according to my research. I have an Asus laptop I bought not long ago that I want to update and get a new battery for that had a new factory install of windows on it. Anyway during my research I found out that those imaging programs don't always work they can stall but don't always so it depends. So before using the disks make sure you copy any files you made as most likely the disc will format the drive and put everything back the way it was when you first bought it.

I have used restore disks before from Compaq back when Windows 98 was still around and they always warned me that the drive would be formatted.
 
  #19  
Old 03-15-15, 01:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 576
If the discs you have don't work you can look on the Internet and you will find several sources that have Windows 7 media you can download and burn onto a disk or flash drive for installation onto your machine. As long as you have the serial number of your present insulation you can use media for most any place. There's really no sense in paying the manufacturer of your computer to obtain Windows 7 media from them.
 
  #20  
Old 03-17-15, 03:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
Have not done install using the image discs yet. Had some family medical issues that came up and had to take care of first. But I was doing some more reading, which for me can be dangerous, and it looks like using the image discs to reinstall windows will just put the hard drive back exactly like it was when I made the image discs the other day. So how is this like a new factory install? Don't mean to be a pain in the butt really I just like to understand what I am doing and what I expect to happen.

I am also tried anything that I can to see if there is a recovery partition and there doesn't seem to be one. Have gone into disc management and looked also. Just shows one drive. I also was going to try downloading an ISO file to disc but the program won't run to do that.

I will be at work again all day today so I will wait to hear back from you guys about the imaging disc issue. Or anything else you want to ad. Thanks for all the help and patients. I have a good windows key and really just would like to put everything back to factory or just a clean reinstall or windows.

By the way I don't think I have mentioned it but I am running win7 home premium 64bit
 
  #21  
Old 03-17-15, 04:00 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
You are correct. It is not the same as a factory install since you didn't create the CDs when you bought the PC. The only 2 ways to get it back to day 1, (factory) is to access the recovery partition (F11) which you said doesn't exist or order recovery CDs from Compaq. I can't imagine who did what to delete the recovery partition but if you say that it's gone, I guess that it's gone. Look for the recovery manager.
● Select Start > All Programs > Recovery Manager > Recovery Manager.

Edit: The recovery partition has the drive letter Q: You could open a command prompt & type Q: & press enter. See if it takes you there.
 
  #22  
Old 03-17-15, 01:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 576
An easier and much simpler solution is to just download a copy of Windows 7 from the Internet. If all you have a valid serial number you can install from a downloaded copy of Windows 7, you don't have to get a set from Compaq! You will probably have to go to their website to download the correct drivers although in most cases the standard Windows 7 drivers from Microsoft will work for most things.
 
  #23  
Old 03-17-15, 01:28 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Msradell, how will his Compaq OEM product key work on anything else besides a Compaq CD?
 
  #24  
Old 03-17-15, 01:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 576
It's actually a Microsoft OEM product key, not a compaq OEM product key! As long as you download an OEM product key you'll be fine, I've done it many times!
 
  #25  
Old 03-17-15, 04:28 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Ok, if you say so. I never hear of that.
 
  #26  
Old 03-17-15, 05:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Pulpo Msradell is right look at post number 2 here where it says Microsoft Download. It is the only legal way to download a copy. It used to be that a company called Digital River handled that but no more it is Microsoft or no one else who can give you a legal copy without a virus attached. Basically they are called tech copies as you can use them on any computer with a valid COA. I have done this before with a tech copy I was able to obtain for Windows XP and a tech copy I obtained elsewhere for Windows 7. Sometimes you have to call in the COA and sometimes you can do it online.

The COA though must always match the version of Windows you are using so Home Premium with Home Premium and pro with pro etc. Then you can get the drivers from HP for their Compaq computers.
 
  #27  
Old 03-17-15, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
Great info from all of you. I am going to look now and see if I can find one of the places you talk about getting a copy of windows that I can download and use along with the product key that I have. That sounds like a better route than the image discs I have.

Will let you know if I can't find it. Thanks for the help
 
  #28  
Old 03-17-15, 06:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
Ok, I am getting frustated here, mostly because I had to keep bothering you guys, and second because I know I shouldn't be having this much trouble getting something like this done. I went to the microsoft site to get a copy of windows 7.
This one Microsoft Software Recovery
It says that I have to verify the key and then download an ISO file and then save it to a dvd using Windows 7 USB/DVD Download tool.

Ok, I verified the key. But I can't find where to download the ISO file.

I am going to try downloading the tool and see if that shows where it is.

If anyone can help clear this up for me I appreciate it.
 
  #29  
Old 03-17-15, 06:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
I downloaded the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool
It seems to have downloaded fine but when I run it, Set 1 says "choose ISO file"
I think this is the file that I am having trouble locating to download.

So I think once I can find this file to download, I then just put a dvd in and run this tool and it is going to burn the ISO file to the dvd.

what do you think? I am going to keep trying to locate the ISO file but I haven't had luck finding it yet.
 
  #30  
Old 03-17-15, 07:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,938
Wonít a fresh installation of Windows cause the loss of any preloaded software that came with the Compaq Ė not just the loss of bloatware? I thought the Compaq came preloaded with a few goodies Ė (but maybe itís all junk lol).

But it seems to me if you really did want to keep all the software that came with the Compaq you are forced to somehow get the HP installation disks as Pulpo said. Or is that incorrect?

Just sayin in case there are some programs you really like that came preloaded.
 
  #31  
Old 03-18-15, 06:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
Thanks but don't care about compaq bonuses or bloatware. Just trying to get a fresh clean install.

I am still having trouble finding the exact place to find the ISO file that I need to download so I can move forward with this.
 
  #32  
Old 03-18-15, 07:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
last step is to find the ISO file

went to this site

Microsoft Software Recovery

verified key as it says

next step it says I will download the ISO file and use the tool to burn it to a dvd

I still don't know where to find the ISO file that I am suppose to download.
 
  #33  
Old 03-18-15, 07:10 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Why don't you call Compaq & order the discs from them? By time you let MS run you around, the discs will be there. If you find the ISO in the meantime, at least you will still have the discs. You could have been done already.
 
  #34  
Old 03-18-15, 09:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,938
I have Windows 7 Home Premium OEM so I canít get past step 3: key validation. My key is rejected since the service is only for software purchased through a retailer. I tried Ė lol.
 
  #35  
Old 03-18-15, 09:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,938
You probably already know this but this link explains the process. It seems you arenít getting past step 2. Are you sure the .ISO file has not been downloaded to your pc and is in a download folder somewhere? IMHO some of the interfaces Microsoft presents can be confusing (to me anyway, lol).

How to Install Windows 7 Without the Disc | PCWorld
 
  #36  
Old 03-18-15, 02:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 596
that link really isn't anygood anymore because Digital River seems to have been shutdown and the only legit legal place to get this stuff is microsoft. At least that is what I am understanding.

I can't believe it is so hard to just find the ISO file to download. I have the tool downloaded so that I can burn the ISO file to a dvd but I don't know how to find the stupid file.

I know I am not a computer specialist or anything near that but I don't think I am a brick either.

I tried opening the Windows 7 USB/DVD download tool it starts fine but the first thing it asks for is the location of the ISO file. So apparently I am suppose to download it be that hasn't happened yet.

I have not accidently downloaded it either, I did look in the downloads folder.
 
  #37  
Old 03-18-15, 04:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
The copy I have is from Digital River and unfortunately it has been shut down by Microsoft. As for getting the media from Compaq/HP that may be easier said than done. So far I have seen only two manufacturers of laptops that will directly sell media and that is Toshiba and Samsung. I will try the Microsoft route too and see what a key from one of my laptops will do and then report back. It looks like they will not accept OEM keys which is just crazy but I think that is Microsofts middle name LOL. Give me some time and then I will post back.
 
  #38  
Old 03-18-15, 04:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,938
After you type in the key and itís accepted, are you saying you see a list of ISO files to choose from to download but yours is not there, or are you saying after the key is accepted the whole process goes out to lala land and you canít tell whatís happening? I canít find anything that indicates exactly what should happen after the key is accepted Ė and unfortunately my key is rejected (lol).
 
  #39  
Old 03-18-15, 05:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Bad News and Good News

First the bad news I used a Samsung laptop I have with the product key and it said unsupported product it appears that this was pre-installed contact the manufacturer. Well that is precisely what I have done so I will not have a problem re-installing the software and the drivers which was hard before because of the way the drivers were packaged in the download.

Now the good news if you don't want to use your discs there is that company I mentioned in post number 2 that has the factory install discs that they bought from Compaq/HP so you are not dead in the water yet. It is true they are not free but the price of $27.00 wasn't terrible either. I just bought recovery media from Toshiba and it was $29.99. I bought them because the key was hard to read.

Please let us know how it works with that company and if you can find your recovery media with them.
 
  #40  
Old 03-18-15, 05:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,938
Ohh Ė hedgeclippers just reminded me of something that may explain things. When I got the key rejected notice I was confused because I got a modal dialog box with just an OK button (so I thought) which I then clicked and waited for something to happen. Nothing happened so I tried again. Same thing.

I tried again and this time noticed that the dialog box was only half displayed at the top of the screen and when scrolled down an error message was exposed that indicated my key was actually rejected. I had thought seeing the OK button meant the key was accepted (my bad, mental lapse) which obviously was a mistake since OK buttons are used on modal dialog boxes all over the place. But I do believe the display was faulty.

Yep, just did it again, after the key is entered and has been processed an OK button is exposed at the very top left of the screen in a white bar, I think giving the impression the key was accepted. It does not look like a dialog box to me Ė but when you scroll down you see the rest of the modal dialog box and the error message contained within. That seems wrong to me Ė but Iím not an HMI expert to say the least.lol

Is that what is happening to you?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes