Expanding network


  #1  
Old 08-15-15, 07:13 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,259
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
Expanding network

Could someone please tell me what I would need to purchase if I needed more ports for ether net cables? My wireless router has only 4 ports for hardwired cables, but I need additional ports.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-15-15, 07:26 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 511
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
All you need is a "switch." Just plug it into one of the ports on your router and it will increase your capacity.

Something like this:
http://www.microcenter.com/product/2...thernet_Switch
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-15, 06:58 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you need more than 4 extra ports, there are larger switches available.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: