Windows 10 upgrades

Old 09-11-15, 08:16 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Windows 10 upgrades

I just got a notice on my computer for a "free" up grade on my computer to Windows 10,that has Windows 8.1 now. I'm "scared as H--- to accept this "free" upgrade.

my computer came with Windows 8.1..,which I hate!!! My previous computer had Widows XP

Appreciate some of your thoughts on this. I'm a novice user.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 09-11-15, 08:41 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 294 Votes on 261 Posts
I have Win7 on my desktop and had Win8 on my laptop which now has Win10. I like 10 a lot better than 8, not sure if I like it better than 7. The crazy thing is I reserved 10 on my desktop a couple of weeks before I did on the laptop and the laptop has had 10 for almost a month but still don't have 10 for the desktop.
I'm also a novice user

Old 09-11-15, 08:53 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
I've been using Windows 10 since the test versions came out late last year. While I'm not excited about it since I'm one of the three people on the planet who liked 8.1, I do think Microsoft has come up with a solution which both 7 and 8.1 users are going to be able to use without the big learning curve associated with 8/8.1.

Old 09-11-15, 08:56 AM
Thanks for your reply. That was very helpful

Old 09-11-15, 09:25 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 590 Votes on 544 Posts
Windows 10 is being offered to almost everyone as a free upgrade. If you have unlimited Internet access it's no problem but if you are metered and get your service via satellite or cellular I suggest physically taking your computer somewhere where you can leave it for the download. In my case it was about 4.5 gig though Windows website says it's only 3 gig.