New computer W10

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-15, 03:18 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
New computer W10

My trusted Dell 820 with XP had issues with the left shift key, which kept messing things up, so I had to bite the bullet and get another computer. Wound up with an HP Probook 4540s i7, which seems to be a pretty bad puppy. But naturally it has W10 on it. May as well be in a foreign language. Same thing. I have to learn all over again. I'm too old for this crap. If anyone who has been through the curve has suggestions for what to do, what to eliminate, what to add, post it.

One immediate problem I am finding out is its incompatibility with former programs that I ran on my XP, like Quickbooks Pro 2005. That's the first one I found, so there goes another $250 for one that will work. Luckily it was loaded with Office 2013, so I am cool, there.

Thanks for the input, as usual.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-06-15, 03:32 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I haven't had to deal with Windows 10 yet. When the time comes, I plan to use a USB hard drive enclosure, to connect the XP drive, to the Windows 10 computer. I don't know, if that will work but since I already have the enclosure, it's worth a try.

Also, you may want to buy Windows 10 For Dummies or Windows 10 For Seniors.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-15, 06:08 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Aha!! I thought surely Richard or someone else would have thought of this. Load Quickbooks, which won't work, click on the desktop icon, click properties and revert it to work as XP. It worked, saving me some money. I have my XP machine cloned with a Western Digital external drive, so that helps somewhat. Now if I could just get used to the artsy fartsy stuff.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-15, 11:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Larry you know something I didn't know and I had the preview too but it wasn't as good as the original. I also didn't have as much time as I would have liked with the preview of Windows 10 so I didn't deeply explore it I just learned the basics and sent messages to Microsoft with suggestions. One thing that I liked about Windows 7 that is missing on Windows 10 is the ability to see Microsoft Word right at the top of the start menu. Not that I write much but I like having it where I can see it. To find word you have too look through your app list and then click on Office.

Well doing that over and over again to find something you might need fairly often is monotonous to say the least. So when you find Word right click on it and then click on pin to start menu. You will have too look under the Artsy Fartsy stuff to find it on the right of the start menu but it still is easier to find than looking in through a long list. Some of the Artsy Fartsy stuff isn't too bad but I agree some I could do without. I might have a few more tips in a few days I have been renovating our old rental house so I haven't had much time to go online. Have a great day Larry!
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-15, 03:10 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
To find word you have too look through your app list and then click on Office.
Once you find it in the app list, just drag and drop it to the desktop. Easy peasy. Now if I could find out how to disable the touchpad when using a mouse. One step at a time, I guess.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-15, 05:06 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connect a USB mouse, to the laptop.
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-15, 07:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had some free time Larry so I thought I would help you a bit more. As far as mouse settings are concerned they thankfully are fairly easy to find. To change the mouse pad setting or even turn it off look for settings and then after clicking on settings look for devices. Now look for mice settings and scroll to the bottom while ignoring the rest and look for advanced settings. Advanced settings will have the mouse pad manufacturers settings I usually go there to turn off tap to click but you could turn the whole muse pad off. Have a great day!
 
  #8  
Old 10-07-15, 12:19 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Hey, Richard, thanks for the information. I don't have anything under touchpad but increasing or decreasing the delay. No way to turn it off, which is really what I want to do while I have the USB mouse installed. No advanced settings.
 
  #9  
Old 10-07-15, 12:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #10  
Old 10-07-15, 03:39 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you search Google for 'disable synaptic driver' it will tell you how it's done.
 
  #11  
Old 10-07-15, 03:47 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,201
Received 54 Votes on 52 Posts
Get
Ultimate Windows Tweaker 4 for Windows 10


Ultimate Windows Tweaker 4 for Windows 10
 
  #12  
Old 10-07-15, 04:32 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Thanks for the links. Will adventure hem when I get home and report back.
 
  #13  
Old 10-07-15, 06:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am still think there must be some advanced settings you might want to chat with the manufacturer of the laptop Larry. It would be unusual for any laptop manufacturer to not have more customizable settings. It might be though something that turns itself off when you plug in a mouse I just am not certain about the newer models I buy used. Two of my used laptops have Windows 10 on them and so far have done well in an upgrade from Windows 7. As for desktops I build those myself I can get a better warranty and better parts.
 
  #14  
Old 10-07-15, 06:49 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Removing both the PS2 and USB mouses and reinstalling them worked. I got the screen I wanted in the Advanced section and was able to disable the touchpad. One more down. Thanks all.
 
  #15  
Old 10-07-15, 06:57 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,894
Received 47 Votes on 40 Posts
You bought a new computer because of a wonky shift key? Can I have it?

A move from XP to Win 10 is quite a jump, but as your finding, it is a very usable OS. I went from Win 7 to Win 10 and it has been fairly seamless. Good luck!

Really, I'll take your old laptop.
 
  #16  
Old 10-08-15, 05:02 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,201
Received 54 Votes on 52 Posts
As for desktops I build those myself I can get a better warranty and better parts.
I also build my own desktops but money wise it's not worth it. Besides, then you still need to "buy" an OS and install it. As far as better parts, well that's partly true. For me it's the idea than I can get hardware that fits my needs. And the fact that I can get re-acquainted with all the new hardware that is already outdated by the time I buy it.

Computers are so cheap now days it isn't worth building them.
 
  #17  
Old 10-08-15, 05:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Norm I left out a couple of other reasons why I like to build a desktop myself. 1. Cooling cases are built better for a do it yourself job and therefore your computer stays cooler than most pre-built computers. 2. Satisfaction and fun too I get more fun out of building and even rescuing some older computers than most people but it is something I get a great deal of enjoyment out of. Then too as I already stated I know my build works for me as your builds work for you. I also know about just about every component that might fail. So for me it isn't about price it is about quality of the parts.

I have been using my builds probably much longer than I have for most of the branded desktops I have had in the past. Most of those older computers were better built too but component wise they were not as good and couldn't handle the better OS. When it comes to laptops though I only buy branded but then I buy used most of the time with no OS on them. Also no warranty either but I want to save money so I wouldn't buy new even though some are definitely better than my used laptops.

I do agree with you about parts too for a desktop I have a tv tuner from an old HP in my newest build. I just hate throwing things away and it was about the only component that was still good from the old junk HP I bought at auction.
 
  #18  
Old 10-08-15, 06:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I also build my own desktops but money wise it's not worth it.
I know what you mean. I built my own but I was looking at a comparable Dell. I think maybe some of the HW I used was a little better, maybe lol, but the price was very close.

The only thing for me was now I know every piece of HW in the PC and have every piece of software that was loaded. I remember helping my sister a while back with her Dell and it took some time to figure out what Dell put in the machine and how the OS and some other things were set up. If I remember correctly some of it seemed a mystery and you definitely were dependent on Dell and their suppliers (I think) for help as far as I recall.

But I guess it wouldn’t be an insurmountable problem to be able to maintain the Dell and the price seemed pretty good and it seems like the quality is also good – so I’m told lol.


(she also had an HP at one time so I hope I’m remembering which was which – but either way it was harder to troubleshoot than one you build yourself IMHO)
 

Last edited by zoesdad; 10-08-15 at 06:33 PM.
  #19  
Old 10-09-15, 07:32 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,290
Received 44 Votes on 41 Posts
I build my own just because of the joy I get answering the question of what kind of computer it is by saying I built it. In other words, I'm paying more to stroke my ego.

Additionally, I'm picky enough it's sometimes hard to find exactly what I want in a pre-built.
 
  #20  
Old 10-09-15, 02:58 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Computers built by users are known as "clones". Believe it or not, a local guy built a clone laptop, for a friend of mine. That was about 7 years ago. It never died, it only became outdated.

I don't know if there are any laptop kits similar to desktop kits but for you adventurous type, it's something to consider.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: