Want to use smartphone as modem for desktop PC

Old 10-28-15, 12:02 PM
B
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Want to use smartphone as modem for desktop PC

I ordered an Asus Zenphone 2 smartphone. I want to use it as a modem to deliver Internet to my desktop PC via WiFi or preferably USB wired tethering. My research tells me this can be done, and it would be most cost effective with pre-paid data. I have a few questions about how this works since I have never done this before

1. When the smartphone delivers Internet to my PC, will I use the desktop keyboard to control and surf the Internet, or is this done through smartphone hotspot?

2. Do I need to purchase anti-virus software to install on the smartphone, instead of PC?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-28-15, 12:22 PM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 45 Votes on 38 Posts
It works on the same principle as a "Hotspot" at McDonalds for example.

The phone will act as an internet connection & you would use your desk top as normal. Once the phone wifi is activated, you wont do anything with the phone.

You do not need to purchase an antivirus for the phone in my experience.

Keep in mind though, while you are using the phone for wifi, normally you cant use the phone as a phone. You cant make or receive calls.
Note: some phones will take a call but upon taking the call, you loose you wifi connection.

Old 10-28-15, 12:38 PM
B
Thanks Dix,

Good to know. I understand I'll probably need app download and driver to do the USB tether option. As a backup I can also get Internet on smartphone screen itself. This phone has 4G LTE, fast processor and fastest WiFi standard to date 802.11ac. And I get strong cellular signal with two cell towers near house. Should work well on desktop PC. And I can control costs big time.

I do realize heavy hot spot usage could shorten the life of the phone.

Old 10-29-15, 05:40 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts