The FixMeStick

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-16, 07:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
The FixMeStick

Read a review on it and I like parts, but it left some concerns, meaning I might have to know what I'm doing. The parts I liked were, simple for the most part. Then it talked about getting tech support, but didn't say it was at a price or free. It almost sounded like they could take over the pc and fix it, which is something I would really like. Dumb ta Dumb, Dumb.

What are your thoughts?

Bud
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-16, 07:12 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,864
Received 118 Votes on 108 Posts
Don't do it! There are whole bunch of things like this on the Internet. They want you money. They will indicate all sorts of problems on your machine. Then offer to fix them if you buy their product or service. Most likely it won't fix anything but will change things on your computer.

Best bet is use Microsoft Defender (it's free), and the free version of Malware bytes. Unless you have a specific problem these two things will keep you running smooth.

Do you have specific problem? If so let us know and we can hopefully find a solution for you.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-16, 09:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,498
Received 166 Votes on 147 Posts
another vote for don't do it!

Back when I had dial up the ISP was having problems but dumb ole me thought it was my pc. I down loaded one of those types of programs and had a heck of a time getting it off of my computer once I realized I neither needed it or was going to fall for their pricey fixes.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-16, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
I just ran both Malwarebytes and Spybot S&D and both came up clean. Both programs have been defeated as will any others I try to load. The idea of booting from a clean disk or stick would be best, but I would then need to know what to do next. Best I have determined is that if I were to clean off the malware my computer would no longer function. Since this is an old dog, my interest is more towards a new pc, but I have zero confidence it can be protected from infection, thus I would want a plan that can clean it up when needed. Whether that plan is a person or a computer I don't care as long as it could be trusted and be 100%, and be reasonably priced.

I know I'm asking too much.

Bud
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-16, 09:31 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,864
Received 118 Votes on 108 Posts
Bud,

I'm a bit confused (not uncommon ). What exactly is your trouble? Do you in fact have a virus? Is your system running slow? Are you overwhelmed with malware? You say your computer is old. How old and what processor is it running? Could be you just have too many things running at the same time or at startup. If S&B and Malwarebytes did not fix your problem you may not have a problem. However, try running Trend Micro HIJackThis. It's free.
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-16, 09:55 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Download & run Hijack This. Post the output here & I'll tell you what to delete.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-16, 10:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,836
Received 41 Votes on 40 Posts
I'll agree with others, don't trust any online 'I'll fix it for you' kind of service.

The folks here can help if you want to DIY. If you want/need in-person help, find a local computer shop who you can take your computer. They are more equipped to help you and will be less likely to try to up-sell you into un-needed products.
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-16, 10:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Norm, does Virtumode ring a bell. If I could have copied the file names that flashed by on the Spybot run you would have laughed. Redirects, keystroke monitors, fake files, and on and on. Malwarebytes ran a bunch of files for about 5 minutes and then for the last 20 the only file at the bottom was the virtumode.

I have to watch it at night when I shut it off to be sure the power stops otherwise I go to start in the morning and find it still on signed onto another user. Redirects at will and then gives a bunch of bad link messages. The longer I run it the worse it gets. After about 20 minutes Google is useless and I switch to Yahoo which will last another 10 or 15 minutes and then I must reboot.

Zorfdt, I tried one of the local computer shops but they wanted $125 JUST TO TELL ME WHAT IT NEEDED. Then it would cost more to fix it. New computers at the level I need are NOT that expensive.

I can look at HijackThis, but have low confidence it can load past the $hit already here.

Bud
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-16, 11:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
LOL, I just went searching for the free download for the HijackThis and of course it is far from obvious which link to use and checked a few and did not see free anywhere.

If I download the Hijack software do I have to disable anything else?

Bud
 
  #10  
Old 06-09-16, 11:23 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 66 Votes on 53 Posts
I go to bleepingcomputer: HijackThis Download
Scroll down to usage instructions.

No, you don't need to disable anything.
 
  #11  
Old 06-09-16, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Thanks Becky,
Just started reading the full tutorial and saw this, "You should also attempt to clean the Spyware/Hijacker/Trojan with all other methods before using HijackThis. If you allow HijackThis to remove entries before another removal tool scans your computer, the files from the Hijacker/Spyware will still be left on your computer and future removal tools will not be able to find them."
The Spybot S&D and malwarebytes have been unable to detect anything for a long time. So nothing will be cleaned up before I run Hijack.

Now, does running Hijack stop at the point where it gives me a log without doing any damage? That's is what is implied and if so I will proceed and bring that log here.

More reading to see how detailed their tutorial is, I need step by step.

Bud
 
  #12  
Old 06-09-16, 01:00 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 66 Votes on 53 Posts
It'll just give you a log with everything it finds, and won't do anything more at that point. You'll then tell it what to do. Just post the results here and donoli2016 will tell you what to delete.
 
  #13  
Old 06-09-16, 05:26 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can look at HijackThis, but have low confidence it can load past the $hit already here.
If you allow HijackThis to remove entries before another removal tool scans your computer, the files from the Hijacker/Spyware will still be left on your computer and future removal tools will not be able to find them."
I don't know where they got that idea. I have always used Hijack This as a last resort when the other programs failed & that's what happened. You ran anti malware programs & they failed.

Shadeladie is correct.
 
  #14  
Old 06-09-16, 05:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Hi, I got cold feet as I progressed into their tutorial so set it aside, at least for now. They made it abundantly clear that decisions will have to be made while moving through this, even getting it loaded, and I have found all too often I make the wrong choices. Since there is information on this pc I don't want to lose I may wait until I have a new pc up and running so I have access to help and then try to debug this beast, even if it is just for the experience.

I really appreciate the support and I haven't given up, but not now. Time to check out a basic pc.

Bud
 
  #15  
Old 06-09-16, 06:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since there is information on this pc I don't want to lose I may wait until I have a new pc up and running
Why aren't your files backupped, on another drive? You don't want to lose the info so you won't disturb the malware. Is that part of the "leave a sleeping dog lie" theory? I don't mean to be sarcastic but it's not a good way to go.
 
  #16  
Old 06-09-16, 06:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Combofix from bleepingcomputer is what i use to get rid of the stubborn ones
 
  #17  
Old 06-09-16, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Any sarcasm is well deserved as I certainly know better, just can't keep up with the process of doing it. Had it set up once with an external drive but that was last backed up probably 3 years ago. If I were back at maintaining critical data I would bring myself up to speed. But emails, bookmarks and a limited amount of publishing can all be redone if needed. The low priority is one of the reasons this does not justify a $500 a year solution.

The other problem that will come with a new pc will be selecting whatever virus, malware software I need. I'm on a Dell now and have had probably a dozen of them and from a hardware point of view they have been good. I'll start by looking at Dell, but do you have any other recommendations?

Bud
 
  #18  
Old 06-10-16, 07:56 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll start by looking at Dell, but do you have any other recommendations?
Personally, I plan to have a desktop clone built, by a local guy whom I have known for 15 years. He also builds laptop clones. However, if I were going to buy from a manufacturer, I would go with Lenovo.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: