wifi slow

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-16, 09:50 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wifi slow

Hello been here before. Looking for a little input. I had my router go caput the other day. My laptops could "see" the router but the router wouldn't talk to internet. Tried resetting, unplugging etc...no dice. Anyway my modem is an Arris TG862 which does have it's own wifi (and it's my modem)but I had it bridged. I just preferred to go through my own router and into port one on the modem. Anyway since my router died I unbridged it and set it up that way. Only problem is I can barely get on half the time and another time its a little better but slow. As a test I took the laptop into the room and hardwired it from my laptop to port 1. Instant speed. So I am guessing the wireless part of this modem isn't up to snuff. So maybe just get another router and hook it up that way so I am not using the wireless function of modem. Sound logical?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-16, 01:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I'm not sold on my modem being used as a router, either. I use a Netgear 3G 5G dual band router, and am very satisfied with it. We run a ton of stuff off it and it handles it well. It will let you know when you have asked too much of it, but so far, two phones, two ipads, computer, Microcell, two Roku units, wireless printer. It did great until this week when the grandkids arrived. Add one Roku, a phone and two ipads, it tested the system really well.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-16, 02:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
slow wifi

I had a Netgear R6400 and that is what went. It wasn't cheap and only 5 months old. Also having said that I am now running wireless through modem and it seems to be working. I am going to get a router tomorrow though. BTW I did a speed test both ways. Got 27ish MPS wireless (while working) and got a 90ish while wired.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-16, 02:51 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Consider yourself blessed. I am running Windstream at 12 Mbs and think I am in heaven. It's all we have. I don't see how you think that is "slow".
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-16, 10:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,023
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
If the Netgear router was only five months old.... it should be under warranty.
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-16, 05:12 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Take a look at the channel settings.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: