stupid speeds

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-16, 07:25 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,752
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
stupid speeds

My cable company was out fixing an issue with my internet. I was getting 50mbs downloads previously and was fine with that.

He told be I was paying for 100 mbs at 59.95 a month. He stated I could get the speeds if I changed my wireless router to a gigabit model.

I had no clue I only had a fast router and not a gig unit..

So I found one on amazon for 30 bucks..

And low and behold.....

[ATTACH=CONFIG]73295[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-16, 07:29 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,752
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Oh I did have to go into the driver settings on the computer and change from auto negotiate to 1 gig under the speed and duplex..

1 gig full duplex..
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-16, 08:06 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Holey moley. We are relegated to Windstream's top tier of 12 Mbps service. So I know it can be done. It's just prodding our Public Service Commission to get the utilities to do their job. Nice, Mike.
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-16, 09:54 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,384
Received 141 Votes on 134 Posts
You city people make me sick. I've gotta pay a fortune to get my internet via satellite and it tops out at 18mbs down and 3 going up when the weather is good. Throw in some solar flares or rain and it drops below 10mbs download.
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-16, 10:32 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,752
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
You city people make me sick.
ha ha...

Funny though as I dont know how fast speeds help me... I stream netflix fine on the 50 mbs speed I had..

Heck I can probably do fine with the basic 25 mbs package for 39.95...
 
  #6  
Old 11-19-16, 02:17 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You city people make me sick. I've gotta pay a fortune to get my internet...
Sure but look at all the money that you save on rent or mortgage.
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-16, 04:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have a dozen devices in the house where each kid has a cell & laptop those speeds become important. If there are only a couple of devices even DSL at 3 mps is fine (had it for years).

Really, the only improvement I've seen is those annoying pop-up ads load faster.
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-16, 05:19 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,034
Received 41 Votes on 41 Posts
I'm on Time-Warner now Spectrum. I swear they throttle down speed on certain days, like a Saturday.
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-16, 04:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a shared network, so during busy times it will slow down.
 
  #10  
Old 11-21-16, 04:42 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,384
Received 141 Votes on 134 Posts
I used to have Internet at my office via the local cable company. It was funny because you could tell when the kids got home from school. Every day at the same time the speed would really drop.
 
  #11  
Old 11-22-16, 05:13 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was funny because you could tell when the kids got home from school. Every day at the same time the speed would really drop.
That used to happen with AOL dialup. It didn't happen when I switched to AT&T dailup & it shouldn't happen with a decent broadband service.

Locally, you can try TCPOptimizer from speedguide.net
 
  #12  
Old 11-23-16, 03:31 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Rick, you got me to thinking. We have about 12 Mbps service, but have 2 laptops, two Ipads, two phones, Microcell, 3 Roku devices all making demands on the service. I can tell when we reach our peak while watching a movie, so we shut down some items.
 
  #13  
Old 11-23-16, 05:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connect to the router with a browser on one of the machines that is hard-wired. It can show you traffic for both the local and internet traffic.
 
  #14  
Old 11-27-16, 05:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,567
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
Seems like you should be taking advantage of all that speed. Make sure you have Netflix running 24/7 and some internet radio stations too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes