Bios

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-16, 04:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Bios

This is a recap;
If I want to upgrade my BIOS + got this PC as Win 7 yet am running 10 ,can I do it by reinstalling 7, upgrading the bios at dell then reinstalling 10?
Dell does not recognize my machine as 10 - it needs to be seven.

It is not hard doing the upgrade at Dell but I don't know the best way to get back to 10.

I don't think I can image because although the motherboard was upgraded, I think an image would negate the upgrade. Could I upgrade at seven then use one of my Win 10 discs to reinstall and still keep the upgraded BIOS?

So, if I reinstall 7 which it was when I bought it, upgraded the BIOS etc,how is the best way to keep the upgrades to get back to 10?

Before I make a move I just wanted to be clear. The easiest place is at dell with 7. I just don't know howto get back to ten and keep the updates.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-07-16, 07:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A disk image will not negate a bios upgrade. The bios upgrade is not part of the disk image.

Why the bios upgrade first of all? They can fail and then you are left with a dead computer.

If I did choose to update the bios and the utility only works from Win 7, then image the drive as it is now with Win 10. You can use a utility such as Clonezilla (freeware).
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-16, 08:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Bios

I updated a BIOS years ago and found it was more capable and faster.
I have a few images I made with Macrium .

I always thought you should update the machine when you can.

Another thought, would driver upgrades be lost in a disc image?

When you go to a manufacturer like Dell and enter your pc's info, it shows different updates some urgent and some only mild. If I updated all the others labeled urgent after the BIOS update, would they be lost in an image recovery or should I use a disc or even have to go through the process of upgrading to 8 then 8.1 hen 110 to keep all the upgrades?
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-16, 08:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A BIOS update may/may not increase performance. There should be a file that list the "fixes" or improvements that the upgrade will bring.

Driver upgrades, if you do them while running Windows 7 will be lost when you restore your Windows 10 image. An "image" will restore all files on the hard drive to what it was when the image was created - anything on the disk is erased.

Most likely, any driver upgrades that are being offered for Windows 7 will be replaced by a newer version from Windows 10 - often a "generic" driver.

You could try to install the Windows 7 driver on Windows 10 once you download it.
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-16, 08:50 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What mother board & BIOS do you have?
 
  #6  
Old 12-07-16, 09:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I hope you get this attachment I labeled MOBO.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 12-07-16, 10:39 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,422
Received 69 Votes on 55 Posts
Your pic is almost impossible to read. If you try to enlarge it, it gets blurry.
 
  #8  
Old 12-07-16, 12:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
stats

Let me know if this is better
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 12-07-16, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
stats

OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Version 10.0.14393 Build 14393
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name DESKTOP-4OVE9FQ
System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
System Model XPS 8300
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A03, 2/15/2011
SMBIOS Version 2.6
Embedded Controller Version 255.255
BIOS Mode Legacy
BaseBoard Manufacturer Dell Inc.
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role Workstation
Secure Boot State Unsupported
PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.14393.206"
User Name DESKTOP-4OVE9FQ\prime
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 6.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 5.98 GB
Available Physical Memory 3.69 GB
Total Virtual Memory 12.0 GB
Available Virtual Memory 9.42 GB
Page File Space 6.00 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes
 
  #10  
Old 12-07-16, 12:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Motherboard
Manufacturer Dell Inc.
Model 0Y2MRG (CPU 1)
Version A00
Chipset Vendor Intel
Chipset Model Sandy Bridge
Chipset Revision 09
Southbridge Vendor Intel
Southbridge Model H67
Southbridge Revision B3
System Temperature 29 C
BIOS
Brand Dell Inc.
Version A03
Date 2/15/2011
 
  #11  
Old 12-07-16, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Bios

I did it - I went from A3 to A6 - MSINFO32.

It said successful and rebooted. TY
 
  #12  
Old 12-07-16, 04:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Bios

I tried it on the laptop, also 6 years old and ended up with just a beep so I have one success and one failure.
I did it the same way but with a different service tag of course.
Being that the laptop is dead I will keep this old desktop and get that Chromebook my wife has been wanting as she is not computer literate.
TY
 
  #13  
Old 12-07-16, 06:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad you got the one system updated.

Unfortunately sometimes it doesn't work as you found out.
 
  #14  
Old 12-08-16, 09:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,142
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
thank you

It was 6 years old and I planned on getting my wife a Chromebook as she cannot do windows.
Lose a penny, find a penny, right.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: