Burning Audio on a CD

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-17, 05:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 258
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Burning Audio on a CD

I managed to do it with Windows Media Player but...for what I'm using it for, I need the 10 sec. pause.

In my audio recording, there are several 10 second pauses and they are important. When I burned it to the CD, it copied it fine but left out all the pauses.

Any way to not have this happen?

I have a desktop with Windows 10 and am using a voice recorder which has a USB cable to download to my computer.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-17, 07:52 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure what pauses you want but you should be able to get them with Audacity.
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-17, 08:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 258
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They are 10 second pauses of complete silence, no audio, no sound. The CD does not have these pauses.

When I was recording the audio, I watched a second hand for the 10 second pause. The recording has the pauses but the CD does not.
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-17, 08:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 258
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, can I overwrite the CD? I'm not computer literate. Or, do I have to make a new CD?
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-17, 09:43 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 68 Votes on 54 Posts
Also, can I overwrite the CD?
Depends on the CD. They should say CD+R or CD-R if they're rewriteable. Otherwise they're one time use only and you need to make a new one.
 
  #6  
Old 04-19-17, 09:43 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
When you open windows media player, select tools>>options. Select the burn tab. Uncheck the box that says "burn CD's without gaps". That *may* fix the problem with eliminating the pauses.

If you are using CDR media, it cannot be erased once written. If you are using CD RW media, it can be erased and reused. The media label will indicate which type it is.
 
  #7  
Old 04-19-17, 09:46 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 68 Votes on 54 Posts
I think he said he wants the pauses, but isn't getting them.
 
  #8  
Old 04-19-17, 09:53 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Right, I worded that poorly...unchecking the box should keep the pauses......
 
  #9  
Old 04-19-17, 10:22 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 68 Votes on 54 Posts
OK, re-reading your post, I see it clearly now!
 
  #10  
Old 04-19-17, 03:15 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 551
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you record using Audacity & burn from there, you can have all the pauses that you want.
 
  #11  
Old 04-19-17, 05:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They should say CD+R or CD-R if they're rewriteable.
No, there is no "CD+R", and a CD-R is burn-once. The +/- is a blank DVD thing (and FYI always use DVD-R, because they're readable with almost everything, DVD+R has all sorts of compatibility issues).

Rewriteable CDs are CD-RW, and it's incredibly unlikely that OP used one because they're much more expensive. There's only I think two companies that even make them anymore because they were never popular (because of the price, snail-speed rewriting, and lots of compatibility issues with consumer home/car/portable players). It's cheaper and faster to re-burn coasters on plain old CD-R 4 or 5 times than to use a CD-RW.
 
  #12  
Old 04-19-17, 06:04 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 68 Votes on 54 Posts
Well whatever. I've only used DVD's, so I was thinking they would be the same. I'm sure they got the point, whether there's an R or an RW.
 
  #13  
Old 04-20-17, 12:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 258
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mine is a CD-R, bummer. Good news is, cost was $4.99 for 10. I only needed one, now hopefully with your help, just two.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: